2007 Georgetown Divide Petit Verdot

blended with Cabernet Sauvignon; 15.1% ABV
“Mountain Estate,”El Dorado Cty, CA
$3 for an excess buyer’s sample bottle, sold off cheaply

Petit Verdot is a grape traditionally used in some Bordeaux wines.  I first tasted PV wine by itself at a tour and tasting at Simi Winery in Sonoma Valley, CA.  They made it for blending into their Cabernet-based wines, and had barrel samples of all five traditional Bordeaux varietals (Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Petit Verdot) for tasting that day.  I was immediately drawn to its inky purple color and rich fruit, and I have enjoyed its addition to wines since.  This is the first bottling of PV I have seen in a long time, and it is a wonderful expression of the grape.  The winery’s web site is here, but I could not get much of it to load.

The bottle was closed with one of those spongy plastic corks that dluber hates, and indeed at first pour the wine had some weird off flavors.  I thought it needed about 90 minutes of air, and was fully aired around 2hr 15min.

The wine had a saturated black-purple color and was quite full-bodied, with flavors of ripe blackberries, violets, tangy cherries, raspberries / boysenberries, and tar / licorice / clove, and a thickly tannic finish.  There was decent acid to balance the ripe fruit and delineate the flavors.  While nicely mature now, I did not get the impression it would be getting too old any time soon.  I really hope the GO buyers are able to purchase this wine, and would suggest a selling price of about $8 a bottle.

8 thoughts on “2007 Georgetown Divide Petit Verdot

  1. Ann

    I enjoy your reviews, but wonder why you are suggesting prices. I like the affordability o F g.o.’s price choices.
    Just stating my opinion. Regards,Ann

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Ann. I got this wine for $3 only because it was the only extra sample for GO employees who make wine acquisition decisions for all of GO, or at least for local CA stores. The wine steward at the Berkeley store puts these extra samples out for sale with the rest of the wines, always for $3. If the GO wine buyers decide to buy it, then it will appear on shelves in larger quantities at some point, probably for a greater price. I’m suggesting a price that I think would be a GO deal I’d be happy with, if it does appear on the shelves somewhere. Sorry for the confusion.

      Reply
      1. Rondo

        BargainWhine,
        I agree with Ann;better not to suggest price. I once overheard a conversation at Bargain Bank saying the reason wines are priced at $6-8 rather than $3 is that the consumer is willing to pay the price; probably same reason GO had fewer $3-4 wines during last 20% off sale.

        Reply
        1. BargainWhine Post author

          Hi Rondo. Maybe so. I wanted to record what I thought would be a good price in case it showed up after my impressions of the wine had faded. I guessed that the wine buyers have a lot more information than I do about which wines sell at what prices, and that they’d base their decisions on that info more than on what some wine geek blog says, if they even read it. But maybe I should just stay silent and see what shows up at what price?

          Reply

Leave a Reply

