Ironstone 2013 Petite Sirah

Lodi, CA; 13.5% ABV
$5 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 3 Sep

Ironstone_2013_PetiteSirahWhen I opened this, I first poured off half into a 375ml bottle and stoppered it with very little air.  I drank the rest over about 2½ hours and did not like it very much.  It tasted like rather generic red wine, kind of $2-Chuck-like, with not that much Petite Sirah character coming through.

The second half, however, does show more typical Petite Sirah flavors.  It needed only a little air in the glass to show nice Petite Sirah flavor of lighter boysenberry / black raspberry that’s sort of close to roses.  With more air, the fruit darkens to add more blackberry and cherry.  Overall, it’s a decently tasty and balanced Petite Sirah for the price, although not one that excites me very much.  It will likely improve with age.

2 thoughts on “Ironstone 2013 Petite Sirah

  1. JoelA

    It’s very very young and very fruity for a PS, and i can’t tell what will happen with age. I’ll pass on further bottles.

    Reply
  2. EHL

    Thanks for your many reviews, BW.

    As to the Ironstone Petite Sirah, I’m glad to hear that it improved significantly on the second day……since I already picked up a couple of bottles earlier, as I really like PS, but haven’t had the chance to taste it yet.

    As mentioned before in another post, I’ve had Ironstone’s Cabernet Franc (at Seattle’s GO for $5) a while back and the unusual offering impressed me enough to research the winery.

    Granted this is a very young PS from 2013……but compared to the hot competition from Hidden Creek and Novella’s Petite Sirahs for the same price or lower, I don’t think I’ll be picking up more of this bottle.

    Reply

Leave a comment