2008 Main Divide Pinot Noir Canterbury

Canterbury, NZ
14% alc.
$9 at Renton, WA (purchased 4/25/13)

20130428_190356_resized (2)Brick red in color. Spice, mushroom, dark cherry, and garrigue on the nose, even a little gamey note. Dark cherry fruit with spice, vanilla extract, herb, and savory notes. Nice acid with a medium finish and liqueur intensity (almost sounds like I’m describing a Syrah). Slight alcohol note is a minor distraction. This is a deep, dark, and rich pinot. Good deal at $9 for a pinot if you like the darker style. Thumbs up for me and if this is around for the sale then I will grab a few.

This wine is the second label of Pegasus Bay, a family-run Waipara winery that Robert Parker rates as one of the top five wineries in New Zealand (for what it’s worth). Main Divide is the local name for the mountains that run down the middle of southern island.

4 thoughts on “2008 Main Divide Pinot Noir Canterbury

  1. lim13

    Man! would I love to find some of this. Sounds like my kind of more extracted Pinot. I’ve never seen this label, but we spent some time at Pegasus Bay Winery the night before we went to Christchurch to fly back home from our NZ vacation in 2011. It was one of the most impressive wineries on both islands that we visited. Beautiful building and grounds and exceptional wines. I was in the Silverdale GO today and saw nothing of this PN. Keeping my fingers crossed.

    Reply
    1. bin5 Post author

      I’ve only seen a bit in Renton, nowhere else. I am hoping other stores have it in the back and will pull it out this week. I bought a couple, but will buy more if it is around for the sale. Great that you went to NZ and this winery. My wife and I spent a month in NZ after we were married in 1987. The wine scene wasn’t what it is today.

      Reply
      1. ErinMcNeil

        Hi Bin, it’s Erin
        Call or drop in to Renton tomorrow after 11am. We just some great gems in today!!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

