2010 Ogier Cotes Du Rhone Blanc, France $6.99

Silverdale, WA   13.5% alc.    (Purchased on 5/8/13)

40% White Grenache, 20% Clairette, 20% Bourboulenc, 10% Rousanne, 10% Viognier

IMG_0975Clear pale straw; floral, aromatic nose with hints of pear and grapefruit.  On the palate it’s got plenty of texture and is somewhat mouth-coating; flavors of pear, white peach and clove; acidity is fair, though I could stand a bit more.  Short on the finish.  Stellar by no means, it still has pleasant aromas and flavors, especially at around five bucks in WA.  I’ll likely return for a couple more, as it’s unique in flavors and texture and I’ve seen few white Cotes Du Rhones at my local GO.  FYI…last October, dluber reviewed the 2009 vintage of this wine here.  And I do see distinct similarities.

7 thoughts on “2010 Ogier Cotes Du Rhone Blanc, France $6.99

  1. lim13 Post author

    Opened another bottle of this tonight and I think I like it a bit more than the last bottle. Has that same aromatic nose as last described…pear and grapefruit; acidity seems more in line in this bottle and the flavors of pear, white peach and spice are still there. But what impresses me most is the extract, richness and texture…quite mouth-filling.

    Reply
    1. flitcraft

      I think I’ve seen this one quite recently at the Kenmore GO in Bothell. They also still have the Blue Pirate pinot gris you liked. I haven’t seen either of these at any of the other GOs I visit for a long, long time.

      Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        Appreciate the info, flitcraft. I’ve got a good supply of both the Ogier and the Blue Pirate PG, but if you ever see any of that Kiki NZ sparkling SB around, please let me know. I never saw it anywhere. BTW, did you ever try that Ashlyn’s Vineyard Red from Chelan? You initially sounded like you might be interested in it and I’d be curious about your impressions. Looks like the owner, winemaker or other interested party just commented on my review.

        Reply
        1. flitcraft

          Sadly, I have no line on the Kiki sparkling SB. I think the last I saw of it was at the MLK GO some months ago.

          I did buy one of the Ashlyn’s Vineyard Red Blend, but our ‘cellar’ is in chaos at the moment because my husband is in the process of making some better wine shelving. In the meanwhile, wines are higgledy-piggledy in boxes. I will make a point of looking for it, though, and will try it soon.

          Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Appearances are deceiving, dl. There actually was some left in the bottle in the photo. But we did indeed finish it tonight. : ~) Very tasty…just not exceptional.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

