2007 Cantina di Montalcino Chianti Riserva

Chianti DOCG, Italy, 12.5% ABV
$10 at the Berkeley, CA store on 9 May

2007_Montalcina_ChiantiThis has actually been at the Berkeley store for a while, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to spring for a $10 wine with such an uninspiring label.  However, now that it’s on sale, I bought one, and it’s delicious!

It’s rather uninspiring at first, but really blooms after about 1:45 of air in a decanter, and continues to get better after that.  It shows flavors of dark, tangy cherry, hibiscus, black raspberry, dried orange peel, and leather / brown earth, with good acid of the above plus some red raspberry.  Unlike the medium-bodied 2008 Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva, this wine is on the lighter end of full-bodied (after it airs!), with complex ripe fruit and a nice texture.  This wine is, however, less complex and more coarse than the Monsanto.  Compared to the 2007 San Leonino Chianti Classico Riserva, this wine is less dense and layered, but has a more diverse palette of flavors and is more tangy.  I think, much like the Monsanto, you would easily pay twice the price for this wine elsewhere.

I thought I was done with my sale shopping, but I may have to get another bottle if I can make it back there on Sunday (and the wine is still there).  🙂

9 thoughts on “2007 Cantina di Montalcino Chianti Riserva

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened another bottle of this tonight, and it was pretty different from my first (reviewed) bottle. Whereas my first bottle opened and was delicious after enough air, this one darkened but never really opened, remaining tart and reserved.

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      2007 was a big bold year there (I’ve followed that vintage, we spent a week in Tuscany that summer).

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        I think the wine was pretty good, i.e., it fits your description of the year, but the bottle last night did not really seem ready to drink like the first bottle I had was. Have you tried one of these?

        Reply
  2. lim13

    Tasted the Benedetto at a Silverdale store tasting tonight. A bit brickish/brownish in color and while it had distinct Chianti flavors…it left me cold…so I left it on the shelf. There is tons of it at both the Silverdale and Bremerton stores.

    Reply
      1. lim13

        Hang tough, weinish. Maybe just the one bottle I tasted from…or perhaps just a matter of personal taste.

        Reply
  3. weinish

    I didn’t take much time digesting this wine, but had it a few weeks back.

    There’s some left at Oakland start for $9.99.

    Wasn’t a repeat buy for me, but it was decent.

    Just found Benedetto 2009 Chianti in Oakland. Bought the 8 that remained at $6.99. Guy priced it on the spot. Feel it was a bit high, but with the discount, I took it. Reviews online are solid. When I get to it I’ll post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

