2012 Marques de Almonacid Garnacha, Carinena, Spain $4.99

Silverdale, WA    13.5% alc.   (Purchased on 5/17/13)

IMG_0993A beautiful clear deep ruby/garnet.  Very fragrant with youthful grapey, raspberry aromas.  Flavors of pure, unadulterated liquid raspberry.  Great acidity to offset the fruit-forward qualities.  Soft and smooth with little to no discernible tannin.  Completely uncomplicated, for me, it’s a summer quaffing red.  Less than a year old, it’s like a nouveau Grenache…very tasty for what it is.  Perhaps a better bargain at $3.99 or less.

This wine is completely different from the Tempranillo/Garnacha blend  with similar label that bin5 reviewed back on  April 1st.  This wine sees only stainless steel, while the far more sophisticated blend that bin5 reviewed spends time in American oak barrels.  Here’s a link to the producer’s website.

18 thoughts on “2012 Marques de Almonacid Garnacha, Carinena, Spain $4.99

  1. Jon Lindskoog

    I have little time for complaints on this wine at 5 bucks. A rock solid daily drinker. Love that rhubard that I almost always pick up in a Garnacha. Mmmm.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Glad you enjoyed it, Jon…and thanks for your report. Guess I’ll have to start looking closer for rhubarb in my Garnachas. Haven’t noticed it before.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine

      Hi julie and welcome! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like your wine. First, do you know of the store’s exchange policy? You can return any bottle that’s mostly full for a refund or exchange (maybe depends on store policy or if you have the receipt). Second, could you say what you disliked about this wine? Do you think you got a bad bottle or did you just not like this style?

      Reply
  2. Darrell

    This wine has returned at the SF GO at $4.99 a bottle instead of the $3.99/ btl. that Jim V. and I found elsewhere. I purchased some of this at last year’s spring sale in Oakland.

    Reply
  3. Seedboy

    This wine has hung around and is still available at some stores. I’ve consumed a bottle over the last two nights. For the money you’d have a hard time finding a wine to buy to drink over the next year. It has big Spanish fruit including cherry and some citrus but also is nicely balanced with acidity and earth and tannin and a bit of herb. It is really good the second day so it will hold for a year or more.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Can’t really add anything to my previous notes; almost two years later and it’s still chock full of the wonderful raspberryish fruit one expects in Grenache, but also has light tannins and that great tangy acidity. A real lip-smacking delight, decent food wine and holding up very well.

      Reply
      1. Darrell

        Lim, I concur, but now the price has gone up to $4.99 whereas when we bought it was $3.99 minus 20%. The raspberry is of the liqueur type as opposed to fresh fruit.

        Reply
        1. seedboy

          I do believe we may be talking about two different vintages of this. Strangely I did not buy any of this the last time it appeared even though I liked it and it seems to have disappeared from the stores I haunt.

          Reply
          1. Darrell

            Thinks it’s the same vintage because it was quite young when it came out. I still see quite a bit of it everywhere.

            Reply
            1. lim13 Post author

              Actually, I think I had seen a 2011 or 2013 hitting the shelves up here around 8-12 months ago. If I see any on a future trip to Silverdale GO, I’ll let you know.

            2. lim13 Post author

              Everything there today was the 2012. May be (as The Temptations said) “just my imagination” that there were other vintages.

Leave a Reply

