2009 Skyleaf Riesling

Waipara Valley, New Zealand; 12.5% ABV
$3 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 25 May

2009_Skyleaf_Rielsing_NZThe first pour of this wine shows a very pale golden straw color.  On the palate, I tasted flavors of yellow and green apple, and lemon, with a definite sweetness and and a character of artificially flavored candy or SweeTart (emphasis on the “sweet” part).  I couldn’t bring myself to drink this, and I will probably return it on my next visit since I don’t even want to cook with it.  (I was tempted to put it in a pork pot roast, but then I’d have a sweet-ish dish that would be hard to pair with dry wine.)  However, it’s not showing its age, so if you like off-dry candy-like wines, this may be a good deal for you.

2 thoughts on “2009 Skyleaf Riesling

  1. CVD

    The entry on this wine was nice as you described, I picked up the similar flavors, but the ending left me in the same predicament – dump it or cook with it. Regrettably, I just offered a glass to an unsuspecting neighbor on a 90+ day and they enjoyed it!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi CVD and welcome. Apparently a lot of people do like wines like this, as the wine steward said it sold pretty well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

