Steltzner 2006 Syrah “Hendricks Vineyard”

Sonoma Coast, CA; 13.9% ABV
$6 at the Oakland, CA, store on 1 July

2006_Steltzner_Hendricks_SyrahI found this a very interesting Syrah, unlike any I can remember.  Read on to see if you think it’s for you.

My bottle was pretty good from the first pour, but got darker and slightly richer over time.  The most unusual thing about it is the strong, juicy acid of medium-ripe pomegranate and raspberries, with a touch of cranberry.  The flavors also include the usual Syrah cherry, plum, blackberry, and blueberry.  The extra acid made it a good match with lamb and pasta.  However, especially right after it was opened, there was a touch of vinegar in the finish, so do not wait long to drink it after you bring it home.  However, the rest of it seemed ok the next day, if not as complex.

About this wine, GOWineLover commented:

The ’06 Syrah as sold at GO is a solid effort, if possibly in a bit of decline. I only say this because it’s evident there is nice, ripe, juicy fruit with good (but not great) overall body and the balance of the wine overall is a bit off, a bit thinner than I would have liked (especially in comparison, to say, the fantastic-QPR Cliff Creek from last year) and just lacks a bit of roundness and punch. It’s an effort I still recommend and is two thumbs up for a pickup of a bottle or two to see what you think. It is well made.

6 thoughts on “Steltzner 2006 Syrah “Hendricks Vineyard”

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Tree and welcome! I’m glad to hear you also liked this wine. I haven’t seen it in a store near me (Berkeley, CA) in at least a couple months.

      Reply
  1. Andrea

    I bought a bottle a few weeks ago and enjoyed it so much I bought 6 more today. I’m still impressed. Disclaimer: I’m not a wine expert on any account, but I do like good wines. :~)
    I tend to have tongue reactions, aka, swelling to the acidity as one would have when having too much orange juice,… I made the effort to buy more due to the smooth and surprising light flavor for a Syrah which I normally enjoy with a Petit Sirah.
    Cheers!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Andrea and welcome! I think wine is just meant to be enjoyed, so if you like it, it’s good wine. 🙂 I haven’t heard of having your tongue swell up because of drinking something acid, but as long as you can still breathe and swallow, I guess it’s ok. And apparently this Syrah doesn’t bother you too much. 🙂 Thanks for chiming in and cheers!

      Reply
  2. Expat

    This review is very well done – you described exactly what I experienced. A very unexpected profile for a syrah but a well made wine and I welcomed the relatively low alcohol. The label refers to the cool climate area, which explains the substantial acidity and overall leanness. However, this isn’t a thin wine. My bottle left lots of sediment on the inside of the bottle. Not sure if I will re-buy but it is a good wine at a great value if you appreciate more restrained efforts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

