2011 OM (Oliver Marshall) Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc, CA $6.99

Silverdale, WA     13.3% alc.     (Purchased on 7/26/13)

IMG_1085I purchased this wine after reading comments about it following my review of this producer’s Chardonnay…and boy! am I glad I did!  My heartfelt thanks to Tim Brashear for his exacting review and to Seedboy for seconding those comments.  This Sauv Blanc is indeed “almost seamless”, full-flavored and impeccably balanced.  Unlike Tim, I found it to be quite grassy (at least by my definition), but I really like that quality.

Brilliant very pale straw.  The very aromatic nose just jumped out of the glass at me…grassy and herbaceous with a bit of bell pepper.  On the front of the toungue it’s loaded with sweet fruit, but also tangy and extracted.  Flavors of more grass and ripe pear.  For me it’s the best of “both worlds”…has a bit of southern hemisphere herbal (not quite gooseberry) quality and old-fashioned California-style grassy herbaceousness, like the delicious SB’s of the 70’s and 80’s i.e. Grgich Hills, Kenwood, Chateau St, Jean Le Petite Etoile etc.  Fairly long finish.  I love this stuff and will definitely head back for more.  At $6.99 I consider this wine stunning…for myself and for all who appreciate this style.  Perhaps the best non-New Zealand SB I’ve ever had from GO (even better than the Patianna).  I’ll take this one anytime over the OM Chardonnay.

5 thoughts on “2011 OM (Oliver Marshall) Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc, CA $6.99

  1. FresnoWineGuy

    Great review lim13, I’ve really grown to love this Sauvignon Blanc myself. It’s so vibrant, fresh and fruity. I also really appreciate the green grassy flavor and the citrus balance is immaculate. So clean and crisp, it’s been one of my top picks in the Fresno, CA store this week.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Very nice stuff indeed, FWG! Glad you’re enjoying it too. Gave four more bottles a new home this afternoon.

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine

    Hi Tomek. For philosophical reasons, we don’t give ratings beyond “Thumbs Up,” “Drinkable,” or “Thumbs Down.” There are plenty of wines, all of which I could give 4 out of 5 stars (or whatever), while still being very different wines that some people would love and some would hate. We prefer to have people rely on our descriptions of the wines and try them themselves if they sound good, or tell us why we’re wrong if they disagree. 🙂 Here is a previous conversation on this topic.

    Reply
  3. Tomek

    Can you also give a wines star rating ? I’m simple drinker I like a wine or not 🙂 The stars will help me make decision 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

