2008 Vavasour Sauvignon Blanc

Awatere Valley, Marlborough, New Zealand; 13% ABV
$5 at the Oakland, CA, store on 12 August

2008_Vavasour_SauvBlanc_NZI got home after buying this wine to find that Seedboy had commented: “Screwcap wine. This wine is in lovely shape given its age. No oxidation. Clean, good acid, nice citrus and herb flavors, pretty much what you want from a NZ SB. I’ll buy a couple more. Here is the Cellartracker page

I agree it’s quite good if you like this style of Sauvignon Blanc, as I do.  It has some yellow melon, gooseberry, maybe a little green melon but definitely some white of the melon rind, crisp citrus acid, and a minerally structure.  It’s perhaps slightly tired from its age, but it’s still very flavorful and not oxidized in the slightest.

The next day, the rest of the bottle in the fridge was at least as good, maybe better.  It had opened up to show the fruit more, with more emphasis on yellow grapefruit / yellow kiwi, and showed more of the herbal component (good, IMO) that Seedboy mentioned.  Good stuff.

5 thoughts on “2008 Vavasour Sauvignon Blanc

  1. philinoakland

    I think I might have got the last bottle from the Oakland store (from the fridge). I totally concur with the above. I hope they get some more.

    They’re doing a major remodel there and don’t have much fridge space currently. I hope that changes, as I often pick up bottles on my way home, so it’s good that the temperature is right when I open.

    Reply
  2. Patrick

    I find the Vavasour to be a refreshing summer wine and true to NZ flavors. It’s interesting that so many of the regulars here are SB fans, I got into them because I was tired of Chardonnay’s over sweetness, like when we were 20 we drank 7 and 7 and graduated to Jack over, SB’s have always been a better bargain, and GO is a great source, my fave lately was the Voss, those disappeared in a heartbeat, but new ones keep coming because a lot of guys only drink red and a lot of women love their chards!

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      Patrick I think the new buying has been pretty good. The prices are higher than before but we may need to get used to that.

      Reply
  3. inthewinecountry

    Almost all NZ wines are screw cap which is fine by me. This isn’t a indication of quality. As a matter of fact a couple years ago I had a NZ Sauvignon Blanc called Mystery Creek by our friend AWD and it was a 2008 I put it in the cellar (crawl space) along with a 2008 Kono from TJ’s I opened both up about a week ago after holding for a couple years and the 2.99? SB was as good as the 6.99 SB and still would be good for at least another yr.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      I generally prefer screw caps for white wines. I haven’t been impressed with screw caps on reds, though. Not necessarily bad, but there doesn’t seem to be a benefit in the same way screw caps keep whites fresh-tasting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

