2009 Pyrenees Umpqua Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, Oregon $5.99

Silverdale, WA    13.3% alc.    (Purchased on 8/16/13)

The varied reader comments about Pyrenees reds on our blog pushed me to finally break down and buy a few.  Next up will be a comparison of the 2010 and 2011 Meritage wines.

IMG_1098This Cab pours a fairly clear deep garnet.  Nose is pretty slow to open, but after about an hour, opens up to pleasantly fragrant cigar box cedar, tobacco and eucalyptus mint.  On the palate it’s medium-bodied with mildly tart acidity and light tannins.  Flavors show more cedar, tobacco and mint and a certain earthiness—no green bean or vegetal flavors, which is a good thing by my standards.  Medium length finish.  I was somehow expecting little of promise.  It’s not bad, but not a repeat buy for me.  Folks who appreciate a slightly higher level of acidity may enjoy this Cab.

5 thoughts on “2009 Pyrenees Umpqua Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, Oregon $5.99

  1. Janet Reed

    The MLK GO in Seattle has the 2010 Meritage, the 2010 Cabernet, the 2010 Merlot, and a 2010 Tempranillo. I bought one of each to try. So far, I’ve had the cab, which struck me as a ‘meh’ drinkable wine, but nothing more. Probably within a week or two I’ll crack some of the others to compare.

    Reply
  2. FresnoWineGuy

    Pretty good stuff Lim13, I enjoyed it, but as you said, not necessarily a repeat buy for me either. However I’m curious what you have to say about the Pyrenees Meritage 2010 & 2011, personally I found the 2011 (Twist Cap) to open up and even poor much more smoothly than the 2010. The acidity seemed to be much more balanced as well. Surprisingly out of all of the Pyrenees varietals, the Syrah has been the top seller here in the Central Fresno CA store

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      I’ll be out of town until Sunday night, so may get to that Meritage comparison then, FWG. I’m anxious to see how they stack up against one another too. Thanks for checking in on the Cab. It’s fine…just nothing out of the ordinary.

      Reply
  3. JStreet

    Thank you
    Lim. I saw this wine at my local GO and was going to try it but already had some promising Spanish wines and a few others in my cart. Based on your description I look forward to getting this next time, it sounds interesting..

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Thanks for your comments, JStreet. Please check back in when you’ve had a chance to try a bottle. I’d appreciate hearing what you have to say.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

