2010 Fernz Pinot Noir

Marlborough, New Zealand; 13.5% ABV
$5 or $6 at the Oakland, CA, store on 12 August.  Also at Berkeley.

2010_Fernz_PinotNoir_NZThis screw cap wine has most of what I would want from a NZ Pinot at this price — balanced medium red cherry fruit, a little earth and funk, a gentle orange component — but unfortunately it’s dominated by a strangely flavored acid closely linked to an acrid browned rubber sort of component that spoiled the good points for me.  I have to go with Thumbs Down.

Update: Please see favorable comments on this wine from Seedboy.

15 thoughts on “2010 Fernz Pinot Noir

  1. Seedboy

    A Fernz Sauvignon Blanc has now appeared at the Berkeley store for $3.99. 2010. It tastes like a NZ SB with some age on it, some of the fruit has morphed into a tobacco flavor that I rather enjoy, this wine is nicely balanced.

    Reply
      1. Seedboy

        Hey, I should let you know that after my initial bottle I bought a few more. I’ve consumed two of them, and am thinking about taking the rest of them back. There is something off about this wine, can’t put my finger on it.

        Reply
    1. TheConnasewer

      Grocery Outlet has had a number of NZ P.N’s over the past years. Many from Marlborough and Central Otago. The best P.N.s come from Central Otago and if you come across any grab some. Unfortunately the 2010 Fernz falls into the typical light N.Z. PN framework. Not much going on in this wine even after hours in the glass. Don’t try to wax poetic about it. It’s a very simple P.N. and as long as you don’t expect much it’s tolerable. I chose not to buy anymore. FYI on very good inexpensive P.N. Anything from Castle Rock CA. Well made wines at a decent price.

      Reply
  2. EricfromRichmond

    At first I didn’t care for this, but with a little air it was pleasant enough. It’s a light Pinot. I don’t think I’ve ever had a NZ Pinot before, but it reminds me of the type of light Pinots you get from Australia or even the Willamette Valley. I guess I’m used to the hardier Pinots from the Russian River. I don’t drink a lot of white wines so with the temperatures so high right now this is a pretty good option for me, but I’m not sure I will want it later in the year unless I’m eating seafood.

    Reply
  3. wineoracle

    Hm. I wonder whether the rubbery smell in this wine comes from reduction, which is unfortunately fairly common in screwcapped wines:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/26/travel/26iht-trwine.1.7642322.html?_r=0
    If it’s reduction, some contact with air might clear up the condition. I’d suggest decanting the wine, roughly, and maybe a couple times. Alternately, try swirling some in a glass, a lot. Maybe for five minutes. Or, just try the wine again in a day or two. It might come across a lot better.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi WineOracle. I opened this wine two evenings ago, drinking half over 1.5 hours or so (?) and putting the other half into two single-glass (one quarter bottle) screw cap bottles with as little air as possible. Last night, I opened one of those single-glass screw cap bottles. The nice aspects of the wine had aired nicely, becoming more balanced and nuanced, but the unpleasant part didn’t go away to any helpful degree. If this changes in any further sampling, I’ll post a note about it. Anyone else have any observations?

      Reply
        1. BargainWhine Post author

          Thanks, Seedboy. What did you think of the wine without the unpleasant flavors? Maybe I’ll try another.

          Reply
          1. seedboy

            After the first bottle I bought 6 more. I liked its balance, liked the fact that it had fruit without being overly fruity, more complex than most inexpensive pinots. It does have a good bit of tannin in the mid-palate. The second day I thought it had improved, and had developed a nice secondary aroma that seemed more burgundy than new world.
            There is also a Fernz chardonnay, I thought it was pretty pedestrian.

            Reply
            1. seedboy

              Opened another bottle last night. I think I know what BW is talking about. The acidity does have what I’ll call a roasted quality to it. I don’t get anything more than that though.

Leave a Reply

