2011 LaRoche Rosé de la Chevalière

Vin de Pays D’oc, southern France
70% Grenache, 30% Syrah; 12.5% ABV
Imported by Wilson Daniels Ltd.
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 22 August

2011_LaRoche_RoseI’ve been frustrated about how the rosé wines I’ve gotten recently needed longer to air than I gave them, so this one I put in a covered decanter in the fridge for 2 hours before dinner.  The result was lovely wine, nicely flavored but delicate, showing ripe red berries (the tasting notes on the WD site, which I read after writing the above, say the same thing), tangerine / maybe quince, and gentle flowers, with crisp acid.  I preferred it somewhat warmed from fridge temperature, after it had been in my glass a few minutes.  I’ll definitely get a couple more bottles if I see it again.

8 thoughts on “2011 LaRoche Rosé de la Chevalière

  1. mereimage

    Tried a bottle of this last night and have to say, I liked it very much. I’ve been pretty disappointed with extraction at the cost of balance when it comes to most of the roses I’ve purchased at GO. This wine has a beautiful salmon color that clearly says “french rose” to me. The finish did have what I have found in some wines which turn a bit bitter at the end but it’s not off-putting; it reminds me of the aftertaste of an aspirin. Could be a handful of reasons but again… like this a lot and for 4 bucks… gonna get some more for shore.

    Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        The Richmond, CA, store still had plenty when I was there a couple days ago. I got the “couple more” bottles I wanted. I’m planning to have another bottle soon with pasta with seasonal fresh tomatoes, tinned sardines, capers, and garlic. 🙂

        Reply
  2. seedboy

    I do not think I saw this at the Oakland store yesterday. I bought a bottle there about 10 – 14 days ago and liked it.

    Reply
  3. weinish

    I like the wine, but like my Rose’ less “full.” Therefore, I have taken the opposite approach, serving it quite cold. The warmer it gets, there’s something about the finish that I don’t love. Can’t put my finger on it. Not metallic, but maybe petrol? Can’t say.

    That said, we bought 6 bottles, and have enjoyed it as one of the better Roses we’ve purchased from GO.

    Wilson Daniels is a trusted importer for my money. Thumbs Up.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Weinish! That’s funny. I couldn’t quite put a name on that taste in the finish, either. Not exactly acid, not exactly mineral… but I liked it. Also, I found the balance and complexity among the flavors didn’t come out until it warmed a little, but, again, to each their own. I’m glad to hear you’ve enjoyed it nonetheless. Does that mean it’s also at the Oakland store?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

