2008 Niner Wine Estates Syrah

Bootjack Ranch, Paso Robles, CA; 14.4% ABV
$8 at the Richmond, CA, store on 28 Aug, but there was not much left

2008_Niner_SyrahThis wine is likely gone by now, but I picked it up after not finding much red wine of interest and having received recommendations from people here and in the stores.  I agree that, for those who like the ripe California style of wine, it’s very good.

I found it a little closed and acid for an hour or so, but it opened to be soft and rich, with very dark, complex flavors of plum and blackberry, spice and earth.  It didn’t strike me as being close to being too old, but it’s perfectly mature now.  It’s very tasty for the price, and if you can still find it, you’re not likely to be disappointed.

11 thoughts on “2008 Niner Wine Estates Syrah

  1. Russ

    This wine comes from a beautiful winery in Paso robles. I’m not sure how the GO got it. I think for $8 it’s a tremendous value as I stated in my column “Wine Line” for the Merced Sun-Star. It needs to be decanted…. buy as much as you can. To read “Wine Line”, google Russ Winton Wine Line. Cheers!

    Reply
  2. jspencer

    I would agree that this wine is quite good, in the rp CA style. I have bought about 6 bottles, including the last two at the Hollywood GO in Portland, OR.
    My only difference of opinion with BW is that my sense is that the wine is at it’s peak, and I would not keep it very long. Not a problem since I think it would be great with early fall fare.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi jspencer and welcome. I agree with you that this wine is at its peak. I just meant I didn’t detect any “going over the hill” character that might mean it could be better this week than next week. 🙂

      Reply
    2. lim13

      Opened a bottle of this with our wine tasting group over the weekend…tasted blind. This is the first time I’ve tried it. I believe jspencer (above) was correct…it was at its peak when reviewed last September. Had nice, deep color, but seemed a bit thin and washed out to me; rather simple. A few in our group of 10 who have tasted together for 23 years enjoyed it. I wasn’t one of them. One of the couples joined the Niner wine club last year while visiting the winery and was rather shocked to find that I bought this for $7.99 at GO.

      Reply
      1. Russ Winton

        This has been one of my ‘go to’ wines for the last year. I’ve probably had more than two cases and haven’t had a bad bottle. At $7.99 a real steal.

        Reply
        1. Don Bevins

          The winery looks like the real deal. The syrah was in the Rocklin GO a few months back but was gone before I pulled the trigger. Hopefully some of the Niner wins will show up again. There are a lot of show place wines in the Paso Robles area these days to be checked if any of you are in the area.

          Reply
            1. BargainWhine Post author

              Hi Kathy and welcome! I can’t believe this wine is still around, and I’m impressed that it’s still good, too.

          1. lim13

            Had another bottle tonight and this one was totally different than my first. Hardly washed out, this one was richer, had more body and lots of dark plum and berryish fruit. Only down side for me…a little more oak than I’d prefer.

            Reply

Leave a Reply

