2010 Bandana Cabernet Sauvignon

Mendoza, Argentina; 13.5% ABV
$5 at the Pinole, CA, store on 5 Sept

2010_Bandana_CabSI’m pretty sure I had passed this over a couple times because the name and pretty label did not seem serious enough for me.  However, I was told it had been selling well, so I thought I’d give it a try.  It wasn’t my kind of wine, but it’s all right for the price.

Needing only a little air, the wine showed full-bodied, ripe fruit of red and purplish cherries, a little blackberry and perhaps a little sulfur. It was almost completely unstructured, with only a little complexity, and the finish was slightly rough.  That said, it’s definitely a step up from Two Buck Chuck, as the flavors were less like fruit punch and more like wine, and, besides the finish, it is more smooth and elegant.  It didn’t float my boat, but there’s nothing terribly wrong with it, either.

One thought on “2010 Bandana Cabernet Sauvignon

Leave a Reply

