2012 Michel-Schlumberger Merlot

California; 14.6% ABV
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 30 Sept

2012_MichelSchlum_MerlotThis wine has been around for a little while, but it took me that long to realize it was a more recent vintage than the last M-S Merlot I reviewed.  As I wrote then, I usually don’t like Merlot that much, but that 2011 was pretty good.  I prefer this 2012, and it’s a dollar less.

As it’s a younger wine, it’s less elegant than the 2011 was, but it’s richer and more assertively complex.  After about 45 minutes in a decanter, it improves considerably to show ripe flavors of blueberry / blackcurrant, Merlot pine tar, ripe red cherry, with a soft but drying earthy tannic finish.  It’s excellent now, but I expect it will hang on or even improve for the next year or so.

7 thoughts on “2012 Michel-Schlumberger Merlot

      1. Detlef Kotzte

        Just about everything…two buck chuck is miles ahead of that one.
        What is most surprising is that a winery that produces such good wine would even put their label on something like this….Sorry.

        Reply
  1. Pingback: 20% OFF ALL WINE SALE 12/20/13 – 12/22/13! | Front Porch Wine Tasting

  2. GOWineLover

    This is a great and concise review. There is some sulfur funk but it airs out and this wine shines as a medium bodied but still smooth merlot with some really nice flavors. Absolutely pick it up even if you don’t normally like the varietal. Great deal especially if it survives until the sale.

    Reply
  3. BargainWhine Post author

    I often save a glass or two in a single-glass ( 1/4 of 750ml ) screw cap bottle. Last night I opened the saved single glass of this wine, and it made me appreciate that I left something out of this review. This wine has a strong sulfur component that needs about 45 or 50 minutes to air out before the wine becomes nice. My saved glass still needed that time before I liked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

