Momokawa Organic Creamy Nigori Sake’, Oregon $2.99

Silverdale, WA    16% alc.    375 ml.    (Purchased on 10/3/13)
Organic Junmai Ginjo Craft Sake’, USDA Organic and Certified Organic by Oregon Tilth

IMG_1208From Momokawa in Forest Grove, Oregon (northern Willamette Valley); label says to “Refrigerate and shake well before serving”.  In the undisturbed bottle the sake’ clears, leaving about a third white sludge at the bottom.  When well-shaken, the entire liquid becomes milky white, hence the “creamy” nature of the drink.  Looks like coconut milk, smells somewhere between beer wort and freshly fermented grape must; very yeasty and not particularly appealing.  Just the slightest sweetness on the front of the tongue, turning to slightly bitter, thinly “creamy”, yeasty liquid in the mouth.  Here’s a link to the sales page for the 750 ml. bottle.  I suspect the 375’s were sold to restaurants.

Having very little experience with sake’ and no experience with this type, and knowing this comes from a well-considered Oregon producer, I have to assume this is what it’s supposed to taste like.  Perhaps it’s an acquired taste.  Unfortunately, there’s really nothing about it that I enjoy.  So, I’ll chalk this one up to experience and return to wine (or beer).  And I don’t feel that I can fairly rate this product, so I won’t.  Just after preparing this review, I saw this comment from Seattle area reader RB.  Thanks, RB!

2 thoughts on “Momokawa Organic Creamy Nigori Sake’, Oregon $2.99

  1. BargainWhine

    Hi Lim13. If you’re not used to drinking sake, it can be hard to get used to. At least for me, at first, it seemed to have very little flavor compared to beer and wine. But after I got used to its range of usually milder flavors, I got to like it quite a bit, finding there is no drink so soothingly refined as a good sake. I usually prefer a Junmai (made with rice only, no fortification with extra alcohol, and can be more funky or sour) or a Junmai Ginjo (means that the rice is polished to use only the interior or the grain, giving a cleaner, less fermented taste). For completeness, Junmai Daiginjo rice is polished even further, but they may be a little too refined for me and I can’t afford them anyway. These are generally less sweet and more complex than a Nigori. Please let us know if you see any more! 🙂

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      I really appreciate the info, BW…from someone who knows a little about sake’…but it will likely be some time before I give another one a try. But I will indeed let you know if I see anymore at GO.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

