2009 Pierre Sparr Reserve Gewurztraminer

Alsace, France, 13.5% ABV
$4 at the Oakland, CA, store on 21 Oct.  Not much left.  JoelA reported a few days ago that there were a few different reserve Sparr wines at the Richmond, CA, store.

2009_Sparr_ResGewurzA reserve Alsatian Gewurztraminer for $4???  Woohoo!  While it’s far from the most amazing Gewurz I’ve had, for the price it’s excellent.

The wine starts with an aromatic nose of yellow flowers, ripe yellow fruit, and lychee.  On the palate there’s more yellow flowers, ripe honeyed yellow apple and pear, lychee (a perfumed white fruit), with a little green grape bitterness and a mild minerality.  Initially, it’s a little flabby, with the sugar feeling a little heavy, but it develops more balanced acid as it airs.  This is quite yummy!

6 thoughts on “2009 Pierre Sparr Reserve Gewurztraminer

  1. Hieronymous

    I agree about the gewürztraminer. Not my favorite style of Alsatian but a yummy bargain. I also picked up their riesling and pinot gris at the Richmond CA store. The Riesling was similar to the gewürz without a lot of distinctive varietal character. I haven’t tried the pinot gris yet.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Greetings Hieronymous and welcome. Thanks for sharing your impressions of the Riesling, although unfortunately it sounds like you didn’t like it that much.

      Reply
      1. JoelA

        Looks like I don’t agree with Hieronymous about the riesling. I found it pretty tasty and still young. There seems to be enough acid that might make it worthwhile to lay away some for a few years to see whether the flavors develop more complexity.

        Reply
  2. lim13

    I’d love to get my hands on a few of these at this fantastic price, BW. But haven’t seen it up thisaway yet. And “flabby” is a term I’ve used with many an Alsatian Gewurz. I believe it’s just the nature of these wines…likely due to the spicy character and the cooler climate for the grapes. It doesn’t bother me anymore because the flavors are so much more intense than in most domestic Gewurzes.

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      I think “flabby” has been used because of decisions to let the grapes hang longer for more sugar and, necessarily, less acid.

      Reply
      1. lim13

        Precisely, SB. And unfortunately, I find that more often the Alsatian Gewurzes that make their way to the US fit that profile…a tad toward the sweeter side and a bit flabby. Fortunately, they’re also supremely spicy and aromatic, which I just love.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

