1997 Woodbridge Lodi Portacinco, CA $5.99

Silverdale, WA    20% alc.    (Purchased on 10/2/13)

75% Touriga, 10% Trousseau (Bastardo), 10% Souzao, 4% Tinto Cao, 1% Alvarelhao

IMG_1195Real cork…not a hand-pull type.  Opaque deep purple with a brownish caste, showing it’s age of 16 years.  Nose is definitely typical sweet, fortified, high alcohol, raisiny Port.  Quite sweet and syrupy on the palate with tobacco, black plum, raisin and perhaps some cocoa.  It has held up extremely well and it’s really very tasty.  For me, it lacks the back-of-the-throat grip of true Port, but I’m always pleased to see American port style wines employing true Portuguese varieties in their production.  A fine fireside sipper as the autumn (and soon to be winter) nights turn much cooler here in the northwest.  A very inexpensive and tasty well-aged, fortified dessert wine for those willing to give it a try.  Nice effort.  I categorized this as “Kitchen Sink”, but Portuguese/American “Kitchen Sink”.

Worked great as a cooking component in one of our favorite entrees…filet mignon with port blue cheese reduction sauce (using smoked blue cheese crumbles this time).  Mmmmmmmmmmm!

And by the way, BargainWhine was kind enough to alert me to the fact that reader ffchick shared her review of the 1999 vintage of this wine nearly two years ago in November 2011.  She apparently paid $7.99 ($9.99 minus 20% during that year’s winter sale).  So comparing her review with mine and noting the current price…I’d say this is a real bargain!

11 thoughts on “1997 Woodbridge Lodi Portacinco, CA $5.99

    1. lim13 Post author

      Well, Don…I suppose the operative word here is “need”. As I’ve mentioned on this blog before, I’m generally not one to decant anything. As with winemakers who choose not to filter their wines, I tend to find ways to help my wines settle on their own. Keeping the bottle upright for a day or two before opening helps. And then pouring it slowly and deliberately also helps. And if sediment ruins the experience for you…then you’d likely be better off decanting. It’s likely there’s a lot of sludge at the bottom of your bottle of Portacinco. When I feel the need to decant, I usually just pour the wine into a simple decanter (or clean jar) through a coffee filter which catches almost everything you don’t care to imbibe. Let me know what you decided and how things went…and of course whether or not you enjoyed the wine. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. Don

        So I’ve tried the wine and I’m not a fan. However I did pour it through a small filter. The taste
        was a bit overwhelming I thought. I prefer Six Grapes Port so far. Although these are the only two I have tried thus far.

        Reply
        1. lim13 Post author

          “Different strokes for different folks”. But I appreciate you checking back with your comments, Don. Couple of questions: can you tell me what specifically was overwhelming about the wine? And what did you pay for the Grahams’ Six Grapes…a usually very fruity, youthful style Port?

          Reply
          1. Don

            Well I guess just the flavor was a bit strong. I’m fairly new to “the wine game” so I started with white wines, then went to some reds, then to ports. So fruity wines were what got me hooked. I guess I’m still evolving my pallet I didn’t care too much for the Cabernet Sauvingons either.

            Reply
            1. lim13 Post author

              Good to hear from you again, Don. Stick with it…the more you taste, the more you experience and learn. You’re on the right track. And please keep letting us know what you like and don’t like.

  1. lim13 Post author

    For any of you who may still find this wine “lurking” on GO shelves and decide to buy it…or who already have some at home…I finished a bottle last night and you may want to decant the last half (if not the whole) bottle. Mine had at least a half inch of dark sludge on the bottom and the sides of the bottle were caked with more sludge.

    Reply
  2. lim13 Post author

    Glad you brought that up, Bin5. The wine guy in Silverdale told me that the new Vancouver, WA warehouse opened about a month or more ago. And he gave me the impression that when it opened, store managers were then able to order from a master list of wines. The stores still receive forced out products, but they can also order from lots of available wines.

    He self-admittedly is no wine afficianado, but he loves to bring in some of almost everything and he’s a willing student when I try to help him learn more. If I attend his tastings, he often defers to me when customers ask about wines or wine/food matching. And I’m happy to help. I know he has more new wines ordered for later this week and next week too. His only fear now is that he’s running out of room to display them…especially for the upcoming wine sale.

    My best advice to you and our readers: ask your local GO wine-ordering personnel to please order more and more varied wines. And offer to make suggestions if they’re as receptive as the Silverdale manager is. Also remember that the person ordering the wine is very often not the franchisee/operator. And finally…the operator has to weigh how much inventory they’re willing to carry. It’s easy to overdo it with wine…even “cheap” wine. As a retail district manager, I was always having to remind store managers that stock that isn’t moving is costing the business money…every day.

    Reply
    1. bin5

      That is what I suspected. My favorite store owners opened up a second store, so I think they are not as close to the wine as they once were. Next time I see them I will have a discussion.

      Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        Please keep us in the loop, B5…as I’m sure some of our readers might like to have similar discussions with their store operators. Comments about limited choices from readers in southern Oregon and Portland in particular come to mind.

        Reply
  3. bin5

    Your store in Silverdale is on a roll! Can you ask them why they are getting such a selection when the rest of us get the usual suspects? Something is going on. Have they opened the Vancouver warehouse and ordering direct? Or are these shipments random from California? We want to know 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

