2011 charquiño Albariño

Rias Baixas DO, Spain; 12.5% ABV
$6 at the Oakland, CA, store on 16 Oct.  Online for around $18

2011_charquino_AlbarinoThis wine has been around for a while at $10.  At the Oakland store, at least, it’s now $6, I presume in an effort to clear it out before the sale starts Nov 6.  The price reduction induced me to try it, and I think it’s quite good, especially at the lower price.

The floral nose of lighter yellow fruit leads to a nicely complex palate of yellow apple, light green melon / kiwi, non-perfumed white flowers, sweet wood, and a little bitter almond.  While it has a delicate balance among the flavors, and between the riper fruit and the acid, it’s quite full-flavored and has some richness of texture.  (Its style is thoroughly modern.)  After being open about 5 hours, the flavors integrated so the wine was really lovely, so although it’s quite good right after opening, you may prefer it the next day.

The flavors are consistent with the couple other Albariños I’ve tasted, but this is by far the best.

11 thoughts on “2011 charquiño Albariño

  1. Jim Vandegriff

    Priced today at $3;99 in Eureka (less 20%), so I bought some and was able to recommend it to a friend who was shopping there as well. I generally like Albarino from Rias Baixas.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Yes, I couldn’t believe this was down to $4 (Richmond, CA, store). I nearly got some, but I already have a couple Sauvignon Blancs I got during the last sale I haven’t touched. They’re not the same as Albarino but I would probably pair them with similar foods.

      Reply
      1. adlerpe

        Hmmm. I could see a Portuguese vinho verde (also an Albariño, but lower alcohol than a Rias Baixas) as an SB substitute. But the Spanish Albariños are higher alcohol than the vinho verdes, and usually much more acidic. If I’m doing a white wine swap, I’m more likely to swap an Albo for an Austrian Grüner Veltliner. That opens up a different range of food pairings. Hungarian pepper/paprika-based stuff goes really well with the sharper whites, as do pork/veal/poultry schnitzels.

        Reply
  2. Seedboy

    I get some sulfur on this that takes a while to blow off (but not completely). After that it is a pretty good mouthful of white wine.

    Reply
  3. adlerpe

    Oh, fantastic! I lovelovelove Rias Baixas Albariño. For a long time, GO consistently had one or two in stock (usually Martin Codax and something else), but that dried up about four years ago. It was replaced by Austrian Grüner Veltliners (another delicious sharp-tasting white), but all that’s been gone for a year or two. Too much Pinot Grigio around, IMHO.

    I’d been eyeing the charquiño for the last several weeks, but I didn’t want to pop ten bucks. I’ll have to swing by Berkeley this evening and see if they’ve dropped the price there as well.

    Reply
  4. DrJack

    We tasted this a month ago and generally agree with your comments, although it seemed a bit heavy compared to better examples. The lower price makes it more desirable than before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

