2009 Kunde Chardonnay

20131020_165226_resized (2)Sonoma County, CA
13.9% alc.
$5 at Maple Valley, WA

Very golden in color with a tropical nose of pineapple, mango, and a touch of oak. Ripe fruit of pineapple and pear on the palate that follows with a little lemon-lime. Vanilla spice and cream in the finish that is a bit short and could use a little more acid for my taste. A popular style that many will like, but I found the fruit almost over ripe, like pineapple that is a couple days old. I am going to give it a drinkable for me but don’t let that stop you from giving it a try for $5 as it is more a matter of style. It has a stelvin closure.

2 thoughts on “2009 Kunde Chardonnay

  1. lim13

    I’d say you pretty much nailed the description, B5. I was a bit surprised at how deep golden the color was, but I suspect it comes mostly from the oak barrels and not the beginning of oxidation. It’s only four years old. It’s way too oaky for me, but I’d say it’s definitely classic CA Chardonnay…big oak, ripe tropical fruit and lemony, citrusy flavors with a slightly bitter finish. Like you said…”a popular style that many will like”, but I’d prefer the fruit without the oak.

    Reply
    1. bin5

      Yes, I was surprised at how golden the color was as well. And I agree that there isn’t oxidation, however the fruit was so ripe, some of the flavors bordered on those that you get from a little oxidation. I like my chardonnay with a little more balance and finesse.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

