Château de la Motte 2001 Madiran

Madiran, France; 13% ABV
$5 at the Oakland, CA, store on 21 Oct.  It’s no longer there, but I saw it in the Berkeley store today.

2001_DeLaMotte_MadiranDLuber reviewed the 2000 bottling here; this one is better, somewhat of a surprise since 2000 was a generally better vintage.

The first pour is pretty tasty, but promises more with air.  Indeed, after about an hour of air, the fruit becomes darker and riper-tasting, with fruit of dark plum, black grape, red cherry / dark red raspberry, and earth, with a thicker, tannic texture that is not at all unpleasant.  The flavors and texture reminds me somewhat of a Portuguese red.  The saved single-glass screw-cap bottle was still very good the next day.

8 thoughts on “Château de la Motte 2001 Madiran

  1. Ethan

    “it’s disappointingly light and simple.”
    I’m drinking the 2000 right now, $5 at the Richmond CA store. As it happens light and simple is what i crave, as long as it’s exceedingly dry. Like Portuguese supermarket wine, of which i have great memories. I’ll buy more.

    Reply
  2. Dane Henas

    I’m drinking some right now and grabbed the bottle to look it up because I like it so much. I want to get more. At $5 it’s worth getting at least another 1/2 case.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Tim and welcome. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like the wine. We all have our own tastes, and maybe partly because I liked it, but I suspect you’re exaggerating a little here. 🙂

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      I got a bottle of the 2005 at the Richmond store last week, opened it tonight. It’s been open “only” 1:40, so maybe it will undergo a miraculous transformation, but so far it’s disappointingly light and simple. I had expected more after the superb 2003, and from a generally better year. Full review probably tomorrow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

