2005 Hamel Russian River Valley Syrah, Timbervine Ranch, CA $6.99

Silverdale, WA    14.3% alc.    (Purchased on 11/16/13)

IMG_1309Poured opaque, deep, dark purple/ruby.  Nose shows almost no fruit; it’s sulfur, which blows off to barnyardy brettanomyces and, after an hour or so, some tar and earth.  In the mouth it’s more of the same: brett, earth, a fair dose of tannin, bitter, tarry flavors and maybe a smidgen of black raspberry and dark plum.  Somewhat drying finish.  Has decent body and acidity, but I suspect it’s had better days…about four or five years ago.  It’s not completely disgusting, but it’s not for me…and with all the weird flavors, it was not a very good food wine.

Bought this before reading our reader comments here, but I concur with wineoracle and mereimage.  And at the GO price here in WA of $6.99, it’s definitely not a good value.

3 thoughts on “2005 Hamel Russian River Valley Syrah, Timbervine Ranch, CA $6.99

  1. mereimage

    You nailed the description of this wine and helped me realize this is the one I tried a few weeks back. When I couldn’t remember which one, when asked my gut was to say it was a vineyard designate So, I’m glad you posted this review. I wish we would have gotten the other but that is the way the wine bounces in to GO.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

