2007 IO Syrah “Upper Bench”

Santa Maria Valley, CA; 14.8% ABV
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 22 Nov

2007_IO_Syrah_UpperBenchI was excited to see this because the 2006 IO Upper Bench Syrah had been outstanding, even though there had not been much of it.  There was a lot more of this wine (at least at the Berkeley store) and, although it was not up to the level of the previous vintage, it’s still very good wine for the price.

On the first night, I didn’t think all that much of this wine.  While it was quite full-bodied, I thought it was still sort of reserved: okay, but a little acid and rough.  On the second night, with a little more air, it became ripe, rich, and thickly jammy, with dark flavors of blackberry, cherry, black raspberry, spice, and blackened oak.  It’s not all that complex, but the intensely full-bodied richness is good compensation.  Thumbs Up!

5 thoughts on “2007 IO Syrah “Upper Bench”

  1. Darrell

    On the IO 2006 vs. 2007 Syrah ” Upper Bench” aging, I noticed the shortness of the 2006 cork compared to other bottlings of IO wines and that doesn’t bode well for the 2006 I’m afraid, lush as it is.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      I have a bottle of the 2005 IO red blend but I have been waiting to open it since I feel like you and others have already gotten the word out about it. However, since apparently more of it is scheduled to appear, I guess I should get to it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    I’ve been wondering about my comment that the 2007 is not up to the quality of the 2006. I’m suspecting it may just need more age since (1) the 2006 was drinkable soon after opening while the 2007 needed a day of air and (2) the 2007 is more dense and full-bodied than the 2006. Today at the Berkeley store, which still has some of the 2007, I got another bottle to lay down for a number of years to see if one day it will be better than the 2006 was recently.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

