2011 Chateau Du Pradier

Bordeaux, France
12.5% alc.
$6 at Kent, WA (purchased 11/8/13

2011_ChDuPradierI picked up a couple at the sale based on the 2009 Du Pradier that was quite good. What a difference the year makes. 2009 was an excellent year in Bordeaux, 2011 not so much. This wine is imported by A.W. Direct which we see a lot of at GO. The first bottle I opened was corked and I will be returning it, but I had a spare.

Garnet in color with a light nose of licorice, current, and blackberry. Light in body with fine tannins. Red currant, tobacco, and a touch of green pepper. Slightly bitter finish with not a lot of depth and the acid seemed out of balance. I don’t often use the term “thin”, but it seemed very appropriate here. This was disappointing considering the previous vintage. It had similar flavors, but just not enough stuffing for me. I tasted it again the next day and although it gained a little weight, it still didn’t do much for me. I will give this a drinkable, but not worth the calories.

Leave a Reply

