Château de la Motte 2005 Madiran

Madiran, France; 13% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 4 Dec

2005_ChDeLaMotte_MadiranAfter the terrific 2003 Chateau de la Motte, I jumped at this bottling from a generally better year.  Unfortunately, the 2005 is a pale shadow of the 2003.

Where the 2003 poured very dark purple and dense, this wine was translucent, slightly darker red.  Its flavors were fairly simple cherry, cranberry, maybe pomegranate, and there wasn’t much of the hard, tannic finish for which the Tannat grape is known.  After about two hours of air, the wine had a brief period where it seemed about as aired as it would ever get on the first night.  I thought maybe I was missing something, so I covered the decanter until the next night.  Then, while the color and flavors had darkened to a tangy medium purple, the wine was still rather thin and simple.  It’s okay, but I had really been hoping for more.

5 thoughts on “Château de la Motte 2005 Madiran

  1. lim13

    Had difficulty deciding where to post this comment. So I obviously picked here…one of the last reviews on a Madiran. I just read this article today in the Seattle Times and because GO tends to be the only place I ever see wines made from Tannat, thought it was worth sharing with our readers (who seem to have a love/hate relationship with the variety).

    Reply
    1. permiesworld

      Interesting article. I’m a big fan of the Bartholomew Vineyard/Winery. I have a few bottles of their 2009 Tempranillo (it’s still drinking beautifully) left in my cellar. I will try their Tannat (blend or however they bottle it) when they bottle it. I think it’s brilliant to bring some lesser known grapes in. Tempranillo in the PNW has grown beautifully.

      Reply
  2. Isaac Jones

    I’m a big fan of Madiran wines, and I really wanted to like this, but it just wasn’t very good. Not bad, mind you, but undistinguished.

    Reply
  3. weinish

    This email came in as I was decanting the second half of the bottle. I wasn’t expecting much, and now I’m expecting what I had last night after 2-3 hours of air. Can’t win ’em all. It’s not offensive though. It’s just not really anything.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi weinish. I actually do like the second half a little better than the first half, but yes, as you say, it’s not that much of anything. Oh, well. It seemed like a reasonable gamble.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

