2010 Tryptich Paso Robles Red Table Wine, CA $6.99

Silverdale, WA    14.5% alc.    (Purchased on 12/9/13)

IMG_131440% Grenache 40% Syrah 20% Petite Sirah   Sorry about the photo; dark label and a dark day in the NW.  Mostly clear deep ,dark purple/ruby color.  Nose is a bit closed at first, but slowly opens up to candied cherry and raspberry aromas with unusual green olive undertones.  There’s a little metallic quality too, though it’s not really off-putting.  In the mouth, the sweet fruit jumps out of the glass and eventually shows blackberry, dark cherry, black coffee and tar.  The acidity is on the mark and there’s plenty of chewy, mouth-filling tannin from mid-palate through the finish.  I get a touch of black tea in the finish as well.  Whatever oak is here is just where I like it…in the background.

I particularly enjoy how well the three varieties are integrated: upfront raspberryish fruit from the Grenache, richness and dark fruit flavors from the Syrah and tannin and body from the Petite Sirah.  This is a pretty uncomplicated, but very tasty red though I think it’s priced a little higher than I’d prefer or expect.  Five bucks would be a great value.  Definite thumbs up!

I found this description on the web and I like what the author has to say.  Good information (and better picture too!).

24 thoughts on “2010 Tryptich Paso Robles Red Table Wine, CA $6.99

      1. lim13 Post author

        Will be there by late afternoon on Thursday, JWC. Will be leaving home shortly. Hope to catch up with you on Saturday.

        Reply
        1. jwc

          Drive safe, I have an event Saturday afternoon, late, so might be difficult. Also the Beaverton Tanasbourne store is having a tasting from 1-4pm. 8 wines will be available, a number of Oz higher end wines. Anyhow, It’s on the westside, roughly ten miles west of Portland. I believe you mentioned Hollywood GO, so ideally we can meet at one of the two spots.

          Reply
          1. lim13 Post author

            It’ll have to be Hollywood if you can make it, JWC. Gotta’ be back in Tacoma by 5 to meet my wife and friends for a crab feed! If not, I suspect there will be other opportunities. Maybe I’ll get lucky and find something new on the Hollywood shelves. I’m due!

            Reply
  1. Marga Lacabe

    They still have it at the San Leandro store, doesn’t look like many bottles. I’m going to go buy one. Thanks for the blog! I’m writing a list of your recommendations 🙂

    Reply
  2. Bluto

    Just bought a bottle today at the Santa Rosa CA store and it is good…don’t know how much they have but will try to buy more tomorrow

    Reply
  3. BargainWhine

    About the photo, it looks like your bottle is trying to camouflage itself, but only succeeding in the middle. 🙂 (Don’t worry. It’s fine.)

    Reply
  4. seedboy

    I’ve long hoped more California wineries would make a wine like this: a rhonish blend with little or no oak that can retail for $15 (the website price for this wine). At $6.99, I’ll buy more of the IO blend I think.

    Reply
        1. BargainWhine

          As I’m sure you’ve noticed, it’s now in the Berkeley and Richmond stores ($6), and probably lots of others as there seems to be a lot of it.

          Reply
  5. lim13 Post author

    Please let me know where you find it and what your take on it is, PW. I did note that it fades rather quickly once opened and poured. But still tasty.

    Reply
  6. PW

    It sounds like I would like it. I looked at one of our GO’s when I was there today. It was gone. I hope it’s still around at the other one. Thanks for the review.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Bummer, PW! I was really looking forward to hearing what you thought of it. Keep checking though…it may reappear.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

