Poggio ai Mandorli 2007 Chianti Classico Riserva

Chianti Classico DOCG, Italy
90% Sangiovese, 5% Cabernet, 5% Merlot; 13% ABV
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 18 Dec

2007_Poggio_ChiantiClassico_RiservaI first poured out a half bottle of this wine and stoppered it with very little air for later consumption.  The other half was quite promising from first pour, but needed about 2.5 hours in the bottle to air as much as it was going to.  (I got this bottle soon after it arrived.  If you keep it at home for more than a few weeks, you may get different results.)  Then it had tangy flavors of dark plum, darker red and some tart cherries, lighter tar and tobacco, with a stronger tannic finish.  It may be just the power of suggestion, but I find the presence of Cabernet and Merlot somewhat odd in a Chianti.  Some of the fruit more straightforward and less tangy – fresher red cherry and blackcurrant – than I usually expect in Italian wines, and at one point I even thought I detected green bell pepper.  Anyway, this wine is pretty good for the price, although I never felt like it really showed all the potential that seemed to be in the nose.  The tannic finish suggests it may even be better with a couple more years of cool storage, and may have been better the next day.

Although I opened the second half bottle not too long after consuming the first half, I did save a small amount in a single-glass screw cap bottle with plenty of air, and tried it the next night.  While the nose was as lovely as it had been, with aromas of tangy plum, kirsch, and dried orange peel – on the palate it was still about as unresolved as on the first night.  So, perhaps it still needs more age, or perhaps it is past its prime.  Certainly, there is enough fruit and tannin to hold it together, but it’s not clear to me if they will come into balance someday.  For now, I found it only Drinkable.

6 thoughts on “Poggio ai Mandorli 2007 Chianti Classico Riserva

  1. Expat

    BargainWhine, I liked your description. I got a lot of tart cherry and it was sort of pleasing but overall missing the mark. A little too much acid, a little thin, not enough complexity, etc. I’ve got a second bottle and will keep my expectations low when I open it.

    Reply
  2. Jim Vandegriff

    Robert Parker’s vintage chart gives a 93e (ready early) for the Tuscan Chianti Classico 2007 vintage. I will queue mine up for later in the week.

    Reply
  3. weinish

    Had it yesterday.

    I actually thought the opposite, that this wine was past it’s prime. The first glass seemed constrained, so i was hopeful it would open up. After a lot of air this wine seemed to turn the wrong way for me.

    Nice nose, but the color looked to have that slight brownness to it.

    Not a repeat for me.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi weinish. Thanks for affirming my second hypothesis, that this wine is too old, especially since you drink with a confirmed Europhile. It doesn’t have much in the way of bricking (an orangey color common in aged wines) and it doesn’t taste vinegary at all, but other wines I’ve had recently – the Chono Carmenere-Syrah and the Cerrillos Syrah come to mind – have also not been obviously spoiled but never came into balance, and were likely past their window of drinkability.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

