Jean-Claude Boisset 2003 Pommard 1er Cru Clos de Verger

Pommard, Côte de Beaune, Burgundy, France; 13% ABV
$18 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 15 Nov; no longer there

2003_Boisset_PommardIt had been a long time since I drank a Pommard, so I was quite excited to see this in the batch of Burgundies that showed up in November.  However, 2003 was only a rather average year, and there wasn’t all that much to this bottling.  It aired fairly quickly, over 30 – 45 minutes, to show ripely sweet fruit of dried red cherries and earthy orange peel.  While it was nicely delicate and balanced, it was a little lighter and more simple than I had been hoping for.  Even though the wine was perfectly accessible now, it’s possible it may have become more nuanced with a couple more years of age.  Still, even if there were any still at the GO, I don’t think I’d get any more for this price.

3 thoughts on “Jean-Claude Boisset 2003 Pommard 1er Cru Clos de Verger

  1. JoelA

    The nose displayed typical good pinot noir characteristics. However, I cannot comment any more about the nose because I’ve had a stuffed nose all week.

    Overall the wine had many good flavors though it seemed a bit acidic and displayed some sharpness in the finish. Might need more flavorful food than the simple chicken dish we had it with.

    On the second day the wine was more open and less sharp on the finish but faded towards the bottom of the glass. It’s good for drinking now; I don’t think that any more time would improve it, especially in view of this fading. I agree with SB that it doesn’t need decanting.

    Reply
  2. Seedboy

    I bought one bottle of this, and we drank it for Christmas dinner. I rather liked it. It was more approachable than I thought it would be so I decided not to decant it. It is not really complex but it tasted good and was nice with my rib roast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

