NV La Crois Du Pin Blanc De Blanc, France $8.99

Silverdale, WA    11% alc.    (Purchased on 11/20/13)

IMG_1349The second and last of the two La Crois Du Pin bubblies that I recently purchased.  And sadly, this one’s not much better (or as pretty) than the Rose’.  Brilliant medium golden color with fair bubble stream, but nothing extraordinary.  Nose is pleasant enough, but with somewhat unusual peach nuances and little yeastiness or bread dough aromas.  In the mouth it’s spritzy and refreshing when served ice cold (as it should be).  It’s bone dry and lemony with none of the peachy fruit showing in the flavors.  And little of the yeasty flavors I like either.  Short finish.

I wanted to review this before tomorrow night’s potential use of a pleasant sparkler to celebrate arrival of the New Year.  My recommendation: go with something from your cellar (if you’ve got a bubbly in storage) or hit your local Cost Plus World Market (10% off to members), TJ’s or other favorite retailer.  I’m sure you can do better for the same price or a few bucks more.

4 thoughts on “NV La Crois Du Pin Blanc De Blanc, France $8.99

  1. Darrell

    I agree with “My recommendation: go with something from your cellar (if you’ve got a bubbly in storage) or hit your local Cost Plus World Market (10% off to members), TJ’s or other favorite retailer.” Thanks to the contributions on this forum about GO sparkling wines, this has satisfied my curiosity about them and temptation to try a bottle.

    Reply
  2. lim13 Post author

    Unfortunately, the Duc De Valmer Brut has yet to be seen up here in my local WA state GO. Have any other Washingtonians seen it around? I also forgot to mention that there’s a La Crois Du Pin Blanc De Blanc Demi Sec (semi dry) that just showed up in our GO…but with me, it’s two strikes (not three) and you’re out! I always have at least a case of mixed sparklers in my cellar and some real favorites that I’m happy to pay full price for, so you’ll be our go-to guy for GO bubblies, weinish.

    Reply
  3. weinish

    The Duc De Valmer Brut is a much better sparkler, and I believe it was $6.99. I also think this Brut you’re reviewing is a dollar less in Oakland, if still available. As mentioned during the discussion of the sparkling rose, this wine falls short. It’s not as empty as the Rose, but not memorable.

    We try every sparkler that comes through the GO…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

