Scarpetta 2009 Pinot Grigio

IGT delle Venezie, Italy; screw cap; 12.5% ABV
“a collaborative effort of Master Sommelier Bobby Stuckey and Chef Lachlan Patterson of Frasca Food and Wine in Boulder, CO”
$5 at the Oakland, CA, store on 10 Jan

Scarpetta_2009_PinotGrigioFor a while, I wasn’t sure what to think of this wine.  The flavors seemed a little strange, possibly including a little off acid from being too old.  However, about 60 – 75 minutes after I opened the bottle, I thought the wine became very good.  The aspects that struck me as strange went away, the wine became very “clean” and elegant, and the fruit ripened.  The palate has nice yellow apple and pear, but it is dominated by canned pineapple without the sweetness, with nice acid of the above plus a little lemon.  (The wine is completely dry).  It is more ripe and less minerally than most of the Pinot Grigio I’ve had from Veneto.  However, it does remind me of some of the white wines I’ve had from a little farther northwest in the South Tyrol (the Italian name is Alto Adige) with its clear, elegantly fruity style.  This gets a big Thumbs Up from me, although I wouldn’t wait any longer to drink it.  Some of the riper fruit could be heading toward oxidation.

I couldn’t get the producer web site to work that well.

One thought on “Scarpetta 2009 Pinot Grigio

  1. Seedboy

    I thought this wine showed better after a day or so. I bought it the first day I saw it in Berkeley. I know the former rep of this wine and if I get input from her I’ll let you all know what I hear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

