2009 Robert Oatley Mudgee Shiraz, Australia $3.99

Silverdale, WA    14.1% alc.    (Purchased on 11/8/13)

First off…my apologies for posting this so long after purchase.  For some reason I thought that this wine had already been reviewed.  But then I realized that the one bin5 reviewed last March was the 2007.  There are definite similarities in our reviews.  And for what it’s worth, I believe there was still some of this Shiraz on the shelf in Silverdale last week.

IMG_1302Clear medium purple with a pinkish rim.  Very aromatic spicy cinnamon and allspice nose.  In the mouth it’s got medium tannins, but the acidity is a tad high and tends to detract from any richness that might be there.  In the whole picture of things, it’s slightly out of balance.  Flavors are o.k. with more spice, some licorice (particularly in the finish), cranberry and gentle oak.  A bit of a disappointment from one of my favorite GO producers and it pales in comparison to the Tempranillo I reviewed a while ago.  Sure wish we’d see more of the Tempranillo…even from a newer vintage!

2 thoughts on “2009 Robert Oatley Mudgee Shiraz, Australia $3.99

  1. bin5

    I liked the 2009 better than the 2007 and for four bucks I thought this was a pretty good deal and not a bad Tuesday night wine. Funny, I thought this wine got reviewed as well, but I think maybe there were a lot of what’s new comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

