NV Dawson Creek CA Red Wine $3.99

Silverdale, WA     13.5% alc.    (Purchased on 1/15/14)

IMG_1389Cellared & Bottled By Stonehedge Winery, Napa      Night before our Hawks win the SuperBowl!!  My wife’s initial comment…”Tastes like Kool Aid!”  Brilliant medium cherry red.  Nose of cherries and raspberries; flavors are likewise, but the cherries are indeed Kool Aid-like and the raspberries light and fruity with strong candied apple in the mix too.  Inoffensive, simple, forwardly fruity and one-dimensional.  Couldn’t find any real info about it on the web.  Perhaps a Pinot blend??  Very drinkable, but there are much better reds to be had…even for four bucks.  Seems to fit the phrase “chillable red”.  I will not be using this wine to toast our victory on Sunday.

6 thoughts on “NV Dawson Creek CA Red Wine $3.99

  1. lim13 Post author

    I don’t think anyone would have guessed a one-sided outcome like that! And I sure would have liked to have found a bottle of that Viano up here.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Like I said…victory!! I knew we were gonna’ win, but 43-8???? Too bad Denver forgot to send their team!

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine

        Forgot to send their team? Well, I’m not a sports fan, but I did wind up at a Super Bowl party today, and even I was appalled at how lopsided it was. I brought a bottle of the 2010 Viano Zin that was appreciated.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

