2006 Legaris Crianza

Ribera Del Duero, Spain 100% Tempranillo
14% alc.
$8 at Renton, WA (purchased 2/10/14)

20140213_183211_resized (2)I opened this and started to sniff and taste and said to myself this is pretty good. I really didn’t start taking notes however for over an hour and a half (in tribute to BW the “air” guy).

Dark garnet in color with a hint of purple. Anise, leather, and red berry on the nose. Nice mouth feel with fruit of plum and raspberry framed in the anise and leather with a touch of vanilla oak. Very integrated structure with balanced acid and tannins that sit in the background. I got a little olive in the lingering finish. This wine is drinking right on the mark for it’s age. I really enjoyed this and give it a thumbs up and will buy a few more.

I did a little research the next day and it seems this sold in the $20+ range. Interesting I found a description that said “for lovers of big and tannic wines, will age for 7-10 years”. As I said, time has been really good to this wine as the big and tannic have become mellow and integrated. It was finished in American and French Oak for twelve months, and again the oak was in the background for me. Crianza for Spanish wines is a designation of barrel age of one year. Reserva and Gran Reserva designations have more barrel and bottle age. Worth a try.

3 thoughts on “2006 Legaris Crianza

  1. lim13

    Had this last night too. Like you, I liked it. My notes: Just slightly hazy medium ruby with no signs of its seven plus years of age. Very nice nose of dark cherries, blackberry and light cedar. In the mouth it’s soft and smooth, smoky and cedary with loads of more Bing cherry/blackberry/raspberry fruit. Medium tannins are perfectly accessible right now, but with its near perfect level of acidity I suspect it will age well for another few years. The cedary qualities really show in the finish, along with a little black coffee. Drinking very nicely. Superb food wine…went great with our pepper bacon-wrapped beef medallions. $8.00 at Silverdale though.

    Reply
    1. bin5 Post author

      I went back and looked at my receipt and it was $8 so I edited the price. I am not sure how much better this wine will get, but you are right as it certainly has the balance to keep for a few more years with that excellent tannin/acid/fruit balance.

      Reply
      1. jhrabideau

        Got in to our last bottle of this tonight–definitely still holding beautifully. The rich blueberry fruit didn’t come through until over two hours after opening, so thinking this may have another couple years cellarability.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

