2009 Rocland Estate Shiraz

Barossa Valley, Australia; 14.5% ABV; screw cap
$6 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 March

2009_RoclandEstate_ShirazThis wine had a bit of the funkiness I’ve come to associate with reds in screw capped bottles, but it airs out after an hour or so.  After about two hours in a decanter, this wine is incredible, at least if you like over-the-top powerhouse wines.

The intense dark fruit, with somewhat blackened character, shows flavors of blackberry, plum, blueberry, eucalyptus, bacon, and darker cranberry.  If you like your wine to beat you up, this is for you.  For the price, this wine is terrific.

There is also a 2009 Rocland Estate Grenache.  When I held this bottle of Shiraz up to the light in the store, I could not see through it.  The Grenache, however, was easily transparent.  I will probably try the Grenache just because the Shiraz is so amazing, but I’m not expecting it will be so good.

5 thoughts on “2009 Rocland Estate Shiraz

  1. weinish

    Had the Grenache. Bigger than I expected. Very new world in it’s big and softness. Didn’t please the lady, but I liked it. She didn’t think it was bad, but rather just not her style.

    I didn’t find it at all complex, but it was balanced and straightforward. I would have pegged it for a bigger Cali wine, although I couldn’t guess a grape.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Christian. I agree the complexity was not the most overt, and it took at least a couple of hours of air, maybe more, before I noticed it.

      Reply
  2. Seedboy

    I’ve tasted the grenache, it is the better wine to my taste. I’m not a big fan of the brawny Barossa shiraz, the grenache is lighter on the tongue. There are two other wines made by the same winery, with pink labels, called kick ass. One a grenache, other a grenache/syrah blend. Pretty good wines for 2.99

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      I was wondering when I saw one of those pink label wines whether the wine was a Republican or Democrat wine?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

