2009 Rocland Estate Grenache

Barossa Valley, Australia; 15.5% ABV
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 10 March.  Seen at Richmond on 5 March.

2009_RoclandEstate_GrenacheAfter the 2009 Rocland Estate Syrah was so terrific, and especially after Seedboy commented that he thought this Grenache was the better wine, I had to try it.  While I’ll still go with a weak Thumbs Up, I’m not as fond of it as he is.

To my taste this wine is less balanced, complex, and forceful than the Syrah.  Its main flavor is strawberry jam, with some cherry, boysenberry, lighter raisin, and vanilla / sweet oak, with a slightly syrupy character.  Its high alcohol and slightly rough acid made for a finish I found unpleasant.  While it’s tasty right away, it darkens some after a couple hours of air in a decanter.  IMO, if you see this and the Syrah, get the Syrah.

2 thoughts on “2009 Rocland Estate Grenache

  1. lim13

    Haven’t seen it up here in WA yet, BW…but that’s some pretty hefty alcohol! I think I’d be looking for the Syrah too.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      My eyesight ain’t what it used to be, but I’m pretty sure I deciphered that “15.5” correctly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

