2010 Dante Red Blend

Oakville, CA
13.8% alc.
$6 at Skyway, WA (purchased 3/12/14)

20140318_171959_resized (2)This wine is a label from Michael Pozzan wines. I am not familiar with this winery out of Oakville. Maybe some of our readers can give some insight. The label is slightly different than what is shown on the website. The back of the label says this is a blend of Bordeaux and Rhone varietals. I must admit I was hoping for a winner here for some reason.

Clear light garnet in color. Fruity nose of raspberry with some cranberry and some tobacco but otherwise little complexity. Lots of fruit on the palate same as the nose of raspberry and cranberry. Ocean Spray comes to mind. Good acidity with fine tannins on the finish that may be the best part of the wine. I can’t really tell you what the blend is because of all the fruitiness. I give this a drinkable, but not a wine for me and at $6 a mediocre QPR.

9 thoughts on “2010 Dante Red Blend

    1. jwc

      $6.99 in Tanasbourne, but also saw it at a higher end grocery store, for $7.99. This is the lower tier for Michael Pozzan, he does produce a decent cab sav, “Annabelle”, which retails for $10-$12. Should this show up at GO, might be worth a gamble. The Dante is a pass for me.

      Reply
  1. seedboy

    I think of Michael Pozzin as a label that goes primarily or solely to BevMo. It is certainly a negociant operation. I’m going to avoid Cab and Merlot from Lodi.

    Reply
  2. lim13

    Found this site on the web: http://www.privatereservefinewines.com/pr-import/california-multi-state/dante/ At the bottom it says that the wine is “60% Merlot Central California Coast, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon Lodi, 10% Zinfandel Lodi, 5% Syrah Lodi. Soft and appealing, with red current and herb aromas and jammy cherry flavors. Well-built, with a ripe, dark berry nose and lingering finish. The Zinfandel and Syrah add subtle floral notes that gives this wine a wonderful mouth feel.” (assuming it’s the same wine with different labeling).

    Reply
    1. bin5 Post author

      I am pretty sure its the same wine. Notice they don’t show the label for the red blend. It toned down a bit after a couple hours near the end. And what they say isn’t that far off from what I said (except maybe hyped a bit). Notice it says that it had a wonderful mouth feel, my review agrees with that when I said the acid and tannins in the finish were the best part of the wine.

      Reply
  3. BargainWhine

    It’s funny. I also almost picked this wine up yesterday. I’m surprised by your description of the color, since I couldn’t see through the wine in the bottle, but from the rest of your description, like PW, I’m glad I didn’t buy it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

