Barrymore 2011 Pinot Grigio

Delle Venezie IGT, Italy; imported by Wilson Daniels; 12% ABV
$4 at the Oakland, CA, store on 6 Apr

2011_Barrymore_PinotGrigioHad I known this was the project of Drew Barrymore, I might have skipped it.  However, its nice greenish color, from a region (northeast Italy) from which I like the Pinot Grigio, and the low price, compelled me to get it right away.  And, indeed, I like it!  I guess I need to give Ms. Barrymore more credit.  🙂

This full-flavored wine is dominated by juicy acid of lime / green apple, but also shows Pinot Grigio’s pear and straw.  It’s pleasantly crisp with a little minerality, and very tasty overall.  Made from the same grape, it’s an interesting contrast with the still-available Helfrich 2008 Steinklotz Pinot Gris.  Just in time for warmer weather here in the San Francisco Bay area!

6 thoughts on “Barrymore 2011 Pinot Grigio

  1. tribeseeker

    As much as I would like to say I enjoyed this wine, the bottle I purchased is unmistakenly corked. I mean wet, dark basement corked. Bitter. But I won’t hold that against Ms. Barrymore, I still think that she is charming! (I just won’t be stocking up on this wine..)

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi tribeseeker and welcome! I’d suggest taking the corked bottle back for an exchange. The store policy is that you can take any bottle back for a refund or store credit, depending I think on whether you have the receipt. In particular, of course, I think you should take it back and get another so you can (most likely) see how a good bottle tastes. But I’ll understand if you want something else instead. And, indeed, it’s hard to consider stocking up on something that was corked.

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    I actually like this wine better now that it’s been open in the fridge for a couple days. The fruit and acid are much better integrated, showing the Pinot Grigio character much better. However, I’ll concede the finish is a little weak. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Expat

    I cracked up when I read this review because I went through the exact same process – no idea it was a drew barrymore product and had instant buyer remorse when I found that out. I also found it pleasing but not so wonderful that I’m going to stock up. there are other dry, crisp whites (Pinot Grigios and Sav Blancs) from GO that I like at least as well.I think your review is very accurate but I guess I’m just a little less enthusiastic. I agree with Stu that the finish is weak but I have to say that I don’t think anything at TJs in this price range is as good.

    Reply
  4. Stu Rosenthal

    While I agree with your description, I would not buy this wine again. It lacks body and finish. A bit light compared to other P. Gris. Spend another $ or 2 and try one from trader joe’s.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Stu and welcome! Interesting comment. Do you have a TJ’s wine in particular to recommend?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

