2010 Cicchitti Malbec

Mendoza, Argentina; 13.5% ABV
$8 for 375ml at the Berkeley, CA, store on 9 Apr

2010_Cicchitti_MalbecThis wine and the other half-bottles of Argentinian reds from Cuesta del Viento are apparently only at a few stores, including Berkeley, Oakland, and Redwood City.  I was skeptical about Argentinian wines at this price in the GO, but curiosity got the better of me during the sale.

I think I can see why some people liked this well enough to buy it for the GO, but it’s not really to my taste.  The color is on the lighter side, both in color (more red than purple) and in saturation.  The flavors are purple cherry, redder plum, prune, and funky brown earth.  The texture is gentle and softly textured, and overall it’s a reasonably tasty and engaging wine.  Nonetheless, I find the flavors a little weird, in a sort of artificially flavored candy, or maybe slightly spoiled, sort of way.  Others may like it (I’d like to hear from you if you do, or if you don’t for that matter), and I’d normally give this Drinkable, but at this price, I have to go with Thumbs Down.  For $16 / 750ml, to my taste, one can do much better at the GO.

4 thoughts on “2010 Cicchitti Malbec

  1. dluber

    We thought it was too harsh and astringent, with a green, unripe acidity and sharp tannins. Agree the aroma and flavor profile fell short of a good Malbec.

    We liked the Tannat better, although I haven’t had enough of them to say whether it was a good example or not; I recall liking a Lodi Tannat they had at GO a few years ago better.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi dluber. Thanks for your observations. I would have said my bottle last night was the opposite of “harsh and astringent.” Weird.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi PW. Likewise. Maybe some people will think so, and I would like to hear about it, if so. For example, my wife said she preferred this wine to the 2007 Maorou I liked much better. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

