2008 Winter Hill Sauvignon Blanc

Stellenbosch, South Africa; 12.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 4 Apr

2008_WinterHill_SBI had avoided this older white for a while, but I finally got it one day when I forgot to check the vintage :), out of curiosity about a South African Sauvignon Blanc.  It turns out it was a good bet.

On the first day open, the wine showed decent tropical yellow fruit, with significant green bell pepper / asparagus (to use the word on the back label) component, and some restraining minerality.

On the second day, it tasted much better, showing more forward and integrated flavors of light mango, golden kiwi, yellow melon, still with the green bell pepper / asparagus, lemony acid, and mildly textured minerality.  The fruit is ripe and supple, slightly buttery (partial malolactic fermentation?), but also nicely acid, somewhat like the balance in some Californian Sauvignon Blancs, but the flavors are not very Californian.  Anyway, I recommend it if you’re not too averse to vegetal flavors and especially if you’re also curious about a South African Sauvignon Blanc.  It was still good on the third day open.

10 thoughts on “2008 Winter Hill Sauvignon Blanc

    1. Darrell

      Yeah, but it’s bell pepper and asparagus, JWC. I’ll probably be all over this stuff since it sounds like my cup of tea. BW didn’t mention what the enclosure is. Some of these types of SB can last from 10-20 years.

      Reply
      1. jwc

        Haven’t seen it here also, still have an ’08 Chalk Hill that’s collecting dust, plus the 8 SA Ataraxia SB’s that I picked up for a song. Beginning to think all these SA wines could be excellent QPR’s.

        Reply
        1. Darrell

          This was lost in the tasting queue and I finally got to taste. Probably not your cup of tea, but I wouldn’t describe the wine as being asparagus/bell pepper, but rather, leaning towards the grassy, herbaceous. Considering I missed out on this at $5/btl., I found the 2010 at $3/ in CA, a better QPR especially when it was available during 11/14 the sale.

          Reply
      2. lim13

        I’ve had excellent luck in cellaring many differerent styles of Sauv Blancs (and the far more rare domestic Semillons) for 10 years and better. But the grassier/gooseberry style seems to do best…for me anyway…and that’s a style I prefer.

        Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      🙂 I pair some of the white wines I get with dinner, but some I just have a glass of while I’m cooking and move on to a red with dinner. This was one of the latter.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

