2011 Maddalena Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc, CA $4.99

Silverdale, WA    14.5% alc.    (Purchased on 4/23/14)

IMG_1478Both I and my cellar needed a brief respite after the last GO sale.  But I believe I’m ready to go again now, thanks to the arrival of some new wines at the Silverdale store.

Back label of this SB says it’s produced and bottled by Maddalena Vineyard in Los Angeles, but also gives a web address of Ribioliwines.com   Upon checking out that web site, I found these names are all part of the last producing winery in Los Angeles…San Antonio Winery…in production since 1917.  Web site indicates that the family’s estate vineyards are in Paso Robles, Monterey and Napa Valley.  Actually I remember visiting San Antonio Winery in L.A. back in the early 80’s.

The wine is brilliant pale straw; very pleasant aromatic nose of very restrained hay/grass, ripe pear and spice.  Flavors of more pear, lemon/grapefruit and perhaps some faint clove; really no grassiness on the palate.  A more fruit forward style with excellent acidity, balance and extract.  Just a bit of heat in the finish from the slightly higher alcohol level.  Quite tasty and not the least bit overblown.  A very nice change from NZ/southern hemisphere SB’s.  Fine with food or as an anytime sipper.  Those who enjoyed the 2011 Lunatic white blend and 2011 Lake and Vine SB reviewed on the blog may also enjoy this white.

14 thoughts on “2011 Maddalena Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc, CA $4.99

  1. PW

    Had this with dinner tonight. I liked it very much (both with and without food). It was crisp without being sharp or offensive (sometimes I feel like the crisp ones leave a horrid petrol aftertaste) and because we like dry wines, it was so nice to have one that was not cloying or sweet. So far we are 2 for 2 on SB’s. This was a much less expensive option than our previous one so, thanks. A good recommendation for us Lim.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      So glad it worked well for you, PW…and it’s always nice to be “hitting 1.000” with GO choices. Over the long haul, I’ve done pretty well myself with Sauv Blancs from GO. Thanks for the report.

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        I agree that the most dependable GO wines have been SBs. Although the very worst GO wine ever was a Graceland Cellars SB, yes, with Elvis on the label and everything.

        Reply
  2. candice

    I poured half a bottle down the drain because it tasted like a cheap chardonnay. I couldn’t drink it and I am no wine snob. Something was off!!

    Reply
      1. Seedboy

        I suspect it was a bad bottle or something about Candice’s personal preferences. I’ve opened two bottles of this and they’ve both been lovely. There are a couple of new SBs at the Berkeley store I’ll comment on soon.

        Reply
      2. candice

        Didn’t think about returning it… thanks! Maybe it was a bad bottle but I probably won’t try another to see. Part of the gamble at Grocery Outlet, usually I am pleasantly surprised!!

        Reply
  3. Seedboy

    This wine seems like it has the same musque clone profile but it has more body than the Lake County wine, and costs a buck less

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      I thought I detected a little of that Musque too, SB…but didn’t find it to be pronounced enough to include in my review. Thanks for mentioning it.

      Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Appreciate your comment, Bill. Your last sentence gets right to the point. For our readers who may be looking for it, did you buy yours locally (Kitsap) too…or from another GO?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

