Bordeaux Standard 2005 Sauternes

Bordeaux, France; 13.5% ABV
$6 for 500ml at the Richmond, CA, store on 28 Apr

BS_2005_SauternesAfter liking the Bordeaux Standard reds (2004 Haut-Medoc and 2006 St. Emilion), I jumped at this Sauternes from an outstanding year.  Although this wine is a little lighter than previous Sauternes I’ve tasted, it’s quite delicious.

The first small glass was a little reserved, but the second opened to gently viscous honeyed ripe pear and melon, butterscotch, slightly bitter caramel, and botrytis.  I am not that much into dessert wines, but this even, balanced, decently complex wine is outstanding for the price.

Note that I have here gone with a Lim13-style portrait of the whole bottle as I agree that, in this case, a close-up of the ugly label doesn’t do it justice.

16 thoughts on “Bordeaux Standard 2005 Sauternes

  1. bin5

    The Bordeaux Standard 2004 Haut Medoc is in the Maple Valley and other stores. Maybe there is hope that this will show up around here as well. The 04 was a couple weeks behind the first review.

    Reply
    1. PW

      That was at both our stores today. I didn’t pick it up because I couldn’t remember if it was a positive review or not.

      Reply
  2. Darrell

    When in Richmond during the last sale I saw the 500 ml. bottle and it intrigued me especially since it was listed at $25 a bottle. I immediately bought and tried it to see if I wanted to buy more due to the sale being on. I agree with all of BW’s descriptors, but it was more subdued for me and so I passed on buying more. It is well worth the $6/ two-thirds bottle.

    Reply
  3. Trevor

    I went to the GO store on 23rd in Richmond today – and the manager knew nothing about the Sauternes. Did I go to the wrong store ???

    Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Yeah…. I was tempted to return this morning and clear the shelf, but I had enough to do, and I have enough wine (although probably not enough Sauternes), so… Anyway, on the second night it’s still quite delicious, with the caramel and botrytis becoming more prominent. Maybe I will have to go back tomorrow if to see if there’s any left. 🙂

        Reply
        1. BargainWhine Post author

          Hi Trevor. Great. I went back this morning and also got 4 bottles. I’m glad the five I left on the shelf were enough for you. 🙂 Please let us know what you think of the wine.

          Reply
  4. lim13

    Just wanted to emphasize that this is a 500 ml. bottle, not the typical 375 ml. (or half a 750 ml) that we usually find dessert wines bottle in anymore. So just think of it as getting 125 ml. FREE!! If every bottle is as good as BW describes, it’s an absolute steal! Please send some north to WA.

    Reply
  5. palfrey12

    The Boudeaux Standard 2005 Sauternes is very luscious and favorably priced at the Seaside and Marina stores at $5.99. These bottles will keep a long while and make a great opportunity to share with many future friends who have no idea what Sauternes or botrytis flavors are. It’s like being a missionary for bleu cheese. California bulk winemakers in the 50’s and 60’s so debased the terms chablis and sauternes by selling sweet swill in brown paper bags under these labels that many folks (and restaurants!) here won’t touch the stuff still. I tried to convince the wine-stocker and another customer that Sauternes was a good thing after first explaining what it was. Alas, I alone left with a case in my cart and have gone back since. The noble rot flavor is understated and overall this is a class act, not-too-sweet, and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone I convince to try it.

    Reply
    1. PW

      I was wondering how sweet it was…thanks for the additional info. Combined with the original description, I think I will look for some when I’m out today.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Palfrey12, I agree with PW. Thanks for the extra description and for the advocacy! I was so excited about how good it was (or, I guess more accurately, how much I liked it) that I wanted to post about it right away. Another thing I’d add is that I wrote the notes above while tasting the wine not fully chilled. When I came back for another glass after putting the kids to bed, the wine was colder, and struck me as more “liquidy” and elegant rather than as ripe and rich. I guess, like other wines, the colder temperature emphasized the acid. PW, if you find any do let us know how you like it.

        Reply
    2. lim13

      I chuckled a little while I was reading your comment, Palfrey…because right after I read BW’s review I immediately thought of the California sauterne I used to sell in our stores in the mid 70’s. It did nothing but confuse our customers. True French Sauternes was honeyed and sweet…the CA sauterne (notice there’s no ‘s’ at the end) was bone dry. Customers would come into our stores looking for sauterne for a recipe because many of the American cook books from the 50’s-70’s called for it. The recipes wanted you to use a bone dry white aka. CA sauterne. Our big CA sellers were produced by Concannon (Livermore Valley) in a fifth (before metrics in the U.S.) and Dalmatian in a gallon jug (ha! ha!). Anyway, it was a little eerie and fascinating at the same time seeing you comment about what I had been thinking. Now you really have me going about the “good ol’ days” when we had to price every single bottle and hand change prices at the end of each month…long before UPC codes. Retailers are living the good life nowadays! : ~)

      Reply
  6. dluber

    Thanks for checking that out BW, I was kind of wondering about it myself.
    Also at the RIchmond store, I saw one of those sample wines I reviewed long ago and took some heat for: Munari 2006 Syrah.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi dluber. Nice to see you here. Yep, I saw that Munari Syrah and, based on your diagonal tasting, did not get a bottle. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

