2011 Little Rascal’s Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc, CA $5.99

Silverdale, WA    12.5% alc.    (Purchased on 5/14/14)    Sustainably Grown

IMG_1499I passed by this wine and their Pinot Grigio (which I’ll also review soon) because I didn’t like the name or the label.  Now…thanks to reader Patrick and others, I’m glad I gave it a try.  I never read the back label until I got it home.  That explained the name and label.  It states, “Jeff and Rebecca Hill, to pay homage to their two rambunctious boys (Tristan and Peyton), founded Little Rascal’s Winery in 2011.”

Brilliant pale golden; in-your-face aromas of grassy, fresh mown hay, asparagus pee and musque with a bit of lemon/lime citrus.  In the mouth it’s tart and lemony from entry through the finish with more green grassy, light bell pepper flavors; bone dry.  The herbal qualities dominate the nose; the racy, tart citrus qualities take over on the palate with the herbaceousness in a supporting role.  For me, this is classic 70’s/early 80’s style Napa/Sonoma Sauvignon Blanc.  Grgich Hills and Kenwood come to mind.  Very enjoyable with halibut cheeks in butter, lemon, capers and dill.

16 thoughts on “2011 Little Rascal’s Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc, CA $5.99

  1. GOWineLover

    Just started on this one having bought it due to the price drop to $2.99 at Pleasant Hill. This is a no-go for me. Really not worth much more. Don’t love the thicker mouthfeel. There is definitely some cat pee in here. Bitter, not well structured but not corked. All around, this is a loser. I do consider GO’s strongest varietal to be Sauv Blanc, FWIW. Lots and lots of nice examples over the years at $3-5.

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      Well, I shall stay away from this on account of having stocked up on all sorts of cheap GO SB in the last few months. Thanks for the warning.

      Reply
      1. GOWineLover

        Very possible my bottle was tainted. There have been much better SV’s recently. I remember people going Gaga over the 2006 Chalk Hill which I couldn’t stand nor did I think was a good example of the varietal.

        Reply
        1. permiesworld

          Well, your description (including the cat pee) tallied with the bottle we picked up in Eugene a few months ago. I thought I’d left a comment but I guess I didn’t. Wasn’t a fan.

          Reply
      1. Darrell

        I like to think inadequate blending or different cuvees. Not every wine is one large batch, especially reds where the wine usually goes from barrel to bottling tank. BTW, Lim, I reread your description of the wine and should there be a comma between asparagus and piss? I can take asparagus, but the resulting urine is a bit hard to take.

        Reply
        1. jwc

          Got a chuckle from that post Darrell, comma between asparagus and cat pee…choose your poison. I do get your point, suppose I’m appreciating the humor along with the logic.

          Reply
          1. Darrell

            I don’t mind cat pee apparently since I enjoy NZ SB, but Lim didn’t mention cat. I think Lim is referring to in-the-bowl smells which I couldn’t believe. Yuck!!

            Reply
      2. GOWineLover

        Absolutely. Just for me! I value opinions and review of all users here. Sometimes ours jive, other times, not.

        Reply
  2. Expat

    I thought both the Little Rascals were ok, but not great. Maybe a little too thick for my taste. I still go back to the Barrymore or others for a nice crisp white.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Glad you’re liking it, Karen…and welcome to the blog. I’m in WA state…and curious…where is the Burden store? CA? OR?

      Reply
  3. lim13 Post author

    Similar to cat pee. : ~) Heard of that one, Darrell? I believe we had a group discussion of these terms on this blog a couple of years ago. Drew a number of interesting comments.

    Reply
  4. Darrell

    Sounds good except for the asparagus pee which I’ve never heard used for wine. Now I have 5 SB’s to try from GO.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

