2011 Ogio Pinot Grigio

Delle Venezie IGT, Italy; 12% ABV
$3 at the Richmond, CA, store on 14 May.  Also at Berkeley on 16 May

Ogio_2011_PinotGrigioI got this wine for its nice greenish color, area of origin, and its low price.  I opened it on a sunny Sunday afternoon, quaffed a glass or two, and put off writing notes until the next day.  Yesterday, I used some of it in a dish for dinner, but put off tasting it in order to enjoy the Oregon Pinot Noir I had opened to go with said dish.  By the time I got around to focusing on this wine, my wife had finished it off.  So… my observations are a little less thorough than usual, but the wine is apparently not awful.

The wine showed typical Pinot Grigio flavors of pale green straw, lemon / lime, maybe light pear, and (my only complaint) a slight aspirin flavor.  If I had the choice, I’d likely spend the extra buck and get the Barrymore (same year and classification of origin, and which I think has more flavor and substance) instead, but this was pretty good for the price.

Lim13 reviewed the Ogio NV Prosecco here.

One thought on “2011 Ogio Pinot Grigio

  1. Expat

    I thought this was a dud. Although it was dry, which I like, it was just tart and one dimensional. So many other better GO options, like the Barrymore and other Pinot Grigios and Sauvignon Blancs if you’re looking for a lean white.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

