2012 Little Rascal’s Napa Valley Pinot Grigio, CA $5.99

Silverdale, WA    13% alc.    (Purchased on 5/16/14)    Sustainably Grown

Another white from Little Rascal’s, whose Sauvignon Blanc I recently reviewed.

IMG_1503Brilliant and quite beautiful pinkish/golden color (that one doesn’t often see in Pinot Gris, though it’s typical of the variety) with a very pleasant nose of spiced pear, earth and flintstone.  Almost tastes sweet on the front of the tongue, but dries out quickly from mid-palate through the finish.  Flavors of more spiced pear, just slightly bitter grapefruit pith and a steely quality.  Fruity, but dry and delicious with medium acidity.  Really a lovely example of the variety; great with food or as a summer quaffer.

Though Seedboy felt this wine seemed “pretty simple except for a bitterness I don’t care for”, I’m with reader Don Bevins who said “the color is true to a pinot gris and is very tasty at $4.99. This could well be the best of the pinot grigios for everyday consumption to show up in quite some time.”  I like it Don…thanks for the suggestion.

 

5 thoughts on “2012 Little Rascal’s Napa Valley Pinot Grigio, CA $5.99

  1. PW

    I too was surprised at this color. Nice wine though. I liked it. Husband rated it at drinkable…said it wasn’t his favorite but I wish I’d picked up more. It was a buy from the Eugene GO…don’t have it locally.

    Reply
  2. BargainWhine

    Wow, I had no idea that the weird color of this wine was within typical range for Pinot Gris / Pinot Grigio. I may have to get a bottle. Thanks, Don and Lim13!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine

      After these recommendations, I tried a bottle, and I agree it’s delicious. To me, besides the usual sort of yellow flowers, melon, straw, and lemon / lime of Pinot Grigio, it also had some red fruits and roses. (Was your “grapefruit” pink?) I liked, as you described, the smooth viscous start that makes you worry it might be sweet, that is then balanced out by tasty acid. My only criticism is that I didn’t like it as much the next day, when it seemed more tart and bitter. Thanks again!

      The Wikipedia page for Pinot Grigio says: Thought to be a mutant clone of the Pinot noir variety, it normally has a grayish-blue fruit, accounting for its name (gris meaning “gray” in French) but the grapes can have a brownish pink to black and even white appearance.

      Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        Glad to hear you enjoyed it, BW. And not sure I could differentiate pink from yellow grapefruit, as we really don’t eat or drink much grapefruit in our household.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

