Añoro 2010 Chardonnay

Mendoza, Argentina; 14.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond and Berkeley, CA, stores on 24 May

Anoro_2010_ChardonnayI don’t recall liking Argentinian whites in general, but this wine is very good for the price.  Starting with its nice nose, it shows flavors of ripe pineapple, lemon, cherimoya, and mild green lime.  While the finish is slightly rough, the wine is otherwise elegant and tasty.  I liked it better warmed a bit from fridge temperature, when it seemed smoother and more integrated.  I would have liked to see how it tasted the next day, but the bottle didn’t last that long.

Update 16 July: This wine appears to be rapidly going downhill.  Please see comments below from Lim13 and myself.

14 thoughts on “Añoro 2010 Chardonnay

  1. lim13

    In regard to the last sentence of your review, BW…I’m trying once more the rest of the bottle that I opened day before yesterday. It’s been unrefrigerated and had an unpumped Vacuvin rubber stopper in it. The minimal oak and roasted grain qualities as well as slight bitterness seem more pronounced now. So I’d suggest consuming it on the day its opened.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Lim13. Thanks for the follow up, and for your initial notes. I will see how your notes compare to what I taste whenever I open my next bottle. 🙂

      Reply
    2. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Lim13. I opened my third bottle of this last night. Those “roasted grain” flavors you describe in the finish were quite prominent, and to me taste sort of close to what I’d call “spoiled pineapple.” In my first bottle, there was maybe a hint of this but it quickly aired out. In my second bottle, it took longer to air out. In the bottle last night, those flavors never aired out and were rather unpleasant. So… either this wine is going downhill incredibly rapidly or there is significant bottle variation which in which worse bottles just happen to get opened later in time. Either way, it’s probably one to drink up if you have and can still stand it. I have more of this bottle in the fridge, but I will report back only if it has become surprisingly good.

      Reply
      1. lim13

        Appreciate the follow-up, BW. On a downhill slide or bottle variation? Who knows…but my advice is unchanged. If you try a bottle, folks…drink it up in one sitting.

        Reply
  2. bin5

    Picked this up at the Renton store recently. I liked the limey tartness to this wine and understated oak. Something a little different.

    Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        There seems to be plenty of it down here, so maybe it will make it out your way. Here’s hoping for you! 🙂

        Reply
          1. lim13

            This wine finally made it to my local GO. Picked up one bottle to see what I think…and will report back with my “findings”.

            Reply
            1. lim13

              Couldn’t wait, so I opened this tonight. I rarely refrigerate anything because my full concrete block basement where my wine cellar is located remains quite cool. But I had just brought this wine home from GO, so stuck it in the fridge for about an hour. Very pretty medium golden color. I very clearly got the ripe pineapple and citrus that BW found…but I also detected some attractive peach and peach pit flavors too…along with light oak. There is indeed plenty of fruit here and I really enjoyed that. What put me off was the finish…slightly bitter and lingering roasted grain flavors that nearly ruined the experience for me. I’ve found that flavor in other whites and I just don’t like it. So while it started out pretty tasty, the finish left me cold. No more for me, but my faith in Argentinian whites has been slightly restored. Six dollars up here, of course.

  3. GOWineLover

    Spot on review here, another great one from BargainWhine. I don’t gravitate toward Chard in any way, shape or form and almost always prefer no ML, stainless versions. Nothing really to add except if it sounds like your cup of tea, absolutely pick one up. It’s just not a favorite varietal for me but I do think it is very well executed for the type of Chard and the price point. Nice deal.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi GOWineLover! Thanks for your “second,” and glad you liked this Chardonnay better than most.

      Reply
    2. Darrell

      I concur. Nice deal and with a cork if you want to age. Might be acceptable to Lim as there is minimal wood.

      Reply
      1. lim13

        Only wish I could find it up this-a-way, Darrell. Might have to try cherimoya for the first time too…if I can find it!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

