2012 Rosa de Azul y Garanza

60% Tempranillo, 40% Garnacha; 13.5% ABV
Navarra DO, Spain
$5 at the Berkeley and Richmond, CA, stores on 24 May

RosaDeAzulYGaranzaI liked the dark orange color of the wine and I don’t recall having previously tasted a Spanish rosado before, so… here it is!

Although I didn’t find it especially aromatic, on the palate the fruit is very nice, with flavors of quince jelly, orange raspberries / oranges, orange and pink roses, and wood.  At times, the acid was slightly rough.  For me, the wood component was the most different from what I’m used to in French and American rosés, and I found it sort of a mixed blessing.  On one hand, it often overshadowed the delicate floral aspects of the wine.  But on the other hand, it did add strength, support, and an interesting character to the fruit, for example, making the “orange” somewhat like “orange marmalade”. (I use “jelly” and “marmalade” to try to describe the flavors, not sugar content.  The wine is quite dry.)  So, while I would guess this is not the rosé for weinish, many others will probably like it.  This wine would probably go well with ham, tuna, or other strongly flavored seafood.

The next day, I thought the rest of the bottle was smoother and more delicate, and better integrated.  If you try this wine, and there seems to be plenty of it, please let me know how you liked it.

2 thoughts on “2012 Rosa de Azul y Garanza

  1. Lulu

    I just bought this tonight – looking for a rose’ at GO and it seemed like it might be the better quality of all the labels they had. I quite like it. Fruity but dry, almost creamy tasting. Not too acidic, and nice enough finish. I don’t taste the wood myself. It’s more robust that the typical Provencal style rose’s that I tend to favor. But for $4.99 a bottle, I’m quite happy.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Lulu and welcome! I’m glad to hear you liked it, and I agree with your comment about its relative robustness. If you drank it with food, what was the food and did they go together well?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

