The Jumping Grape non-vintage sparkling wine

65% Pinot Noir, 35% Chardonnay; 12.5% ABV
Adelaide Hills, South Australia
$3 at the Berkeley and Richmond, CA, stores on 24 May

JumpingGrapeI wasn’t sure what to expect from this, but the packaging was very nice and the weather has been pretty warm of late…

This dry wine was initially tasty, if a bit disjointed, showing full, fresh, ripe flavors of yellow apple, lemon, and a little green apple.  It had a nice fruit / acid balance and crisp carbonation, and seemed to reflect an Australian wine philosophy of exuberant robustness.  After the bottle had been open about 30 minutes, kept stoppered in the fridge, the wine integrated nicely and became less fresh-tasting.  Instead, the apple became more browned or caramelized, so, while good now, I wouldn’t wait at all to drink this.

I generally prefer sparkling wines that are less ripe, more lean and elegant.  However, I thought this wine was very good in its style, especially for the low price.

6 thoughts on “The Jumping Grape non-vintage sparkling wine

  1. Delmartian1

    Picked up a bottle of The Jumping Grape at the Oceanside GO on Saturday, popped it in the fridge and tried it at lunch; went back to GO at 1pm and bought the last 15 bottles they had; at $3 for a methode champenoise it is hard to go wrong. It is a bit darker in color than many other similar wines which may be an age issue. Can’t tell when it was bottled but have had some experience with “real” champagne that has been in bottle for 20+ years and it was the same caramelized color and slightly stronger flavor.

    Reply
  2. seedboy

    I’m going to try another bottle because it is nicely made and the price makes me want to like it. I don’t mind the carmelized thing much.

    Reply
  3. seedboy

    This wine actually seemed off-dry to me but I like my sparklers with pretty low dosage. I will note that I bought this immediately so the bottle may have been shocked.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      SB, I too, like you, prefer a lower dosage and refrained from picking up a bottle to try from your initial evaluation on What’s New, but for $3 and BW not mentioning a higher dosage, I just might try a bottle. I have been drinking non-Champagne sparklers from K&L in the $12-$15 range and if this comes close, I will buy this wine. Not too sure I like BW’s description of the wine going from “the apple became more browned or caramelized ” though. I don’t think bottle shock affects the perception of sweetness.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Hi Darrell. At least when I shopped at K&L, I could get a Cremant de Limoux in the $12 – $15 range that would blow this wine away. However, at $3… I would say this is not the driest sparkling wine I’ve tasted, but I thought it just had ripe fruit and was not sweet.

        Reply
    2. Darrell

      I finally tried a bottle with the GO pasta ” sugo pronto alla pescatora” sauce that you mentioned elsewhere, but with fresh pasta . The dosage isn’t as bad as the domestic “cava” that was given me, but I do see what you mean. I think the higher dosage is there as a cover up of not so wanted flavors, maybe the ” not so fresh ” flavor of BW’s or the caramel. Can’t put my finger on the background flavor beyond the sugar. No yeasty autolysis considering the two years on yeast lees. Not a bad bead too. There is an A for effort considering the time on the yeast and definitely worth the $3.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

