Ottomonti 2009 Sagrantino di Montefalco

Sagrantino di Montefalco DOCG, Umbria, central Italy; 14% ABV
$11 at the Berkeley, CA store on 9 July.  I’m pretty sure I’ve also seen it at Richmond.

Ottomonti_2009_SagrantinoThis is another wine that’s been around for a while, but it took me that long to realize it was a different vintage from the 2007 Lim13 and I liked earlier (more about Sagrantino di Montefalco there).  However, one plus from this delay is that I can be more certain that the long airing time I prescribe is not the result of bottle shock from transit.  🙂

This wine didn’t seem to have all that much going for it until after about three hours in a decanter.  Then, it erupted with intense, dark ripe fruits of cherry, plum and maybe blackberry, strawberry jam, rose petals, and a little prune, with a tannic finish.  This wine easily surpasses the 2007 in both power and finesse, if not necessarily in complexity, and probably has another couple years of life in it.  Still, I’ll add a small warning that you must appreciate the earthy fruit and tangy acid of Italian wines in order to enjoy this one.  Although I say “jam,” this wine is not “jammy;” it is a force to be reckoned with.

4 thoughts on “Ottomonti 2009 Sagrantino di Montefalco

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I got another bottle of this soon after I wrote this review, and opened it tonight, two months later. It has evolved a bit since then, at least in my imperfect home storage conditions. It still needed 3 hours of air in a decanter, but now it really is ripe-fruity-jammy along with the acid. Really delicious!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      I opened another bottle of this tonight. It was much the same as in mid-September: needed 3 hours of air in a decanter but was then delicious. I don’t really understand why this has not been selling. If you like a complex, ripe and jammy but still balanced Zinfandel, I’d think you should also like this.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        I bought another bottle from the Oakland store during the sale in early April and opened it tonight. It still needed 3 hours of air, but it was clear from the outset that my bottle was past its prime. It’s redder, more simple, and more acid than my last bottle, and prune has become a prominent flavor. Still pretty good, but I won’t be getting any more, and would recommend anyone who has any to drink it up. If you get a bottle now and open it soon after, it will likely be in somewhat better shape than what I’ve kept at home for two months.

        Reply
  2. lim13

    That’s funny about the vintage. I just noticed the Ottomonti Sagrantino at Silverdale a few days ago, but paid no attention to the vintage. Guess I’ll have to look more closely next visit. And if I remember, I’ll report back on what vintage(s) are there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

