Four Star 2012 red

California, 13.9% ABV
$4 on 3 July, but this bottle was an unsolicited gift from Sopheap at the Richmond, CA, store.

Four_2012_redblendThis is another wine which has been around for a long time, but which I’ve disdained as being only from “California” and for not telling me what grapes are in the wine.  However, I think Sopheap wanted to show me what I had been missing, so he gave me this bottle.

It’s pretty good to drink right after opening, but becomes softer and more integrated with air.  The wine shows jammy fruit of cherry, blackberry, and dark raspberry, with decently balancing acid of those fruits, and a slightly herbal finish.  I have no idea what grapes went into this wine, but I would guess it contains Cabernet Sauvignon and Zinfandel and, heck, everything has Merlot in it.  I generally prefer wines less jammy than this, but I agree that, if you like this style, it’s quite good for $4.

30 thoughts on “Four Star 2012 red

  1. bin5

    I finally tried this wine after all the favorable reviews. The bottle I had contained a little spritz that I haven’t read that anyone else experienced. It took away a bit of the enjoyment for me.

    Reply
  2. flitcraft

    This wine reminds me a lot of certain red blends that higher end wine-makers make for an every-day, early-consumption, easy-to-like red. (Dunham Three Legged Red, Saviah the Jack, and Bergevin Lane Calico Cat come to mind…) But those tend to cost in the mid to high teens, so the Four Star definitely wins for value. Like those wines, I don’t think this will age. (But what are the odds that any will be around for aging, anyway!)

    Reply
    1. PW

      It’s funny, a similar thought crossed my mind. Then when I saw Cynthia’s post here, it made perfect sense.

      Reply
    2. lim13

      Just happened to re-read flitcraft’s comment above while reading the comments that came in today about the Four Star. There was still a ton of it at Silverdale this afternoon and I’ve still seen it at other GO’s, so we may find that it ages right on the shelves in the stores. GO must have bought a ton of it.

      Reply
      1. EHL

        I appreciate your erudite observation, Lim……according to Wikipedia…….”A red Meritage must be made from a blend of at least two of the following varieties: Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Petit Verdot, or Carmenère, with no varietal comprising more than 90% of the blend.”

        Hey…..for government work 3 of the 4 varietals should qualify it, especially for $4…….besides maybe there was only a thimble-full of Syrah in the blend…….nonetheless, I recognize I stand corrected……technically.

        However, remember, I am admittedly no wine connoisseur…….and really meant “Meritage-like” blend…….hope that works………LOL…..

        EHL ;]

        Reply
    1. PW

      Interesting info. Thx. Our GO had a written out tag with the components and Zin was first. Reading this article, after having had several bottles I’m heartily surprised it’s not. Lol! It so tastes like a zin blend. In any case it’s finally nice to know the facts about this one.

      Reply
      1. EHL

        Hey PW,

        Glad you liked the Four Star article, especially since you first raised the merits of the bottle to the GO masses early in the year, according to BW.

        You were right……a very delicious and balanced Red blend that will go with anything…..and cheap enough to break open several bottles for friends at the drop of a hat. I picked up almost a case, once I realized how good it was.

        EHL ;]

        Reply
        1. GOWineLover

          Just had my first half of the bottle last night. It really needed air but there was a ton of promise from the beginning. It tastes like a zin-dominated blend and was hotter than 13.9% upon opening but softened well over the next 1.5 hours. I expected a very fruity, jammy, smooth zin-like bottle and that is not what I got. It is a true blend and the various components do shine through. This is a well structured wine with a nice story from beginning to end. I am interested to see how the second half of the bottle fares tonight.

          This is one of the better red deals I have come across in a long time and can understand how people would purchase cases. Were this to have a different label on it between $25-30, I would still be happy with it.

          Reply
          1. PW

            Just leaving a multi-reply in one place.

            BargainWhine, your review much better described the wine. And descriptions always help me decide whether I want to try it or not. 🙂 I really have enjoyed it. It’s inexpensive yet tasty enough to have in between my more “precious” wines. lol And like I said before, I know it will go with just about everything and I like it.

            EHL, I think we’ve gone through a case as well. People don’t believe me when I say it’s $4.99. I just received a zin blend from my one wine club and it’s on par with the Four Star at 3x the price (club price).

            GOWineLover…I so agree. I have seen it in writing and still, when I taste this, it tastes like a zin blend to me. I can definitely taste the merlot in it. Not as easily the cab sauv. We liked it on day one. Thought that it was a bit more integrated on day two but didn’t fare well on day 3.

            Reply
            1. ehl

              Hey Lim and GOWineLover,

              Nice commentary!

              I agree with you, Lim…….by the third day, the Red blend started going downhill on me, too…….so the moral to the story is…….finish it by the second day, assuming it even lasts that long…..LOL.

              EHL ;]

            2. ehl

              Sorry……I mis-attributed your comment, PW…..I meant agreement with you regarding the Four Star’s degradation by the third day, not LIm!

    2. BargainWhine Post author

      Well, PW has been advocating for this wine in “What’s New?” since January. It took someone giving me a bottle for me to try it, and even then I wasn’t that fond of it. I’m glad other people appreciate it more, though.

      Reply
    3. jwc

      Thanks BW, PW & all, picked up a bottle tonight, as this is one I had avoided.
      Don’t judge a book by its cover I suppose, nice flavors, soft easy drinking with some complexity. Delicious right out of the bottle, $5 here in Ptown.Wonderful BBQ wine, guessing it’s at GO because of the name and label, a consumer win! Really good wine, appears the marketing guys messed up on this effort.

      Reply
    4. Seedboy

      That link no longer supplies any description of this wine. However I’ve just learned that Turley has a Four Star label and sells a cab from its tasting room.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        The wine reviewed above was not obviously to me a Turley wine, since they at least did not previously make Bordeaux varietals (Cab, Merlot, etc.), but who knows? The 2013 bottling of this wine is out now for the same price.

        Reply
        1. Seedboy

          Turley started making cab in 2009. I bought a non-vintage cab from them today in the Plymouth tasting room for $18 and it says on the back label Four Star Wines St Helena CA.

          Reply
  3. PW

    We’ve bought several of these. Currently it’s the wine we drink when a new choice is horrible and we want something we knew would go with almost anything. Our local GO had it listed as a: Zinfandel (I think they said 65% but I didn’t write it down), Cabernet Sauv., Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Petite Sirah blend.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Jen and PW. I’m glad to hear many people have liked this wine better than I did, and I hope Lim13 will, too!

      Reply
  4. lim13

    After passing this wine by many, many times for over a year now…I bought three based on your review, BW. Will report back when I open one. And for those interested locals…it appears there’s now less than a case left on the shelf.

    Reply
    1. lim13

      So I opened a bottle tonight…and am reporting back. Your review pretty much says it all, BW. Only downside for me…it’s a little drying/astringent in the finish…but a great buy and as you said, “if you like this style, it’s quite good” ! Oh…and I mentioned this elsewhere on the blog, but the Silverdale GO had a 12 case display of this on an end cap over the weekend.

      Reply
  5. Cynthia

    actually, as an ex wine manager for GO Kent and Crossroads(I now work for a competitor) , I researched this awesome wine and found out it was a bunch of small Napa wineries that get together every year and produce a one off blend. It’s lovely! SO worth the money!!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Cynthia. Thanks for the info! Sorry to hear you’re no longer with the GO, but I hope your new position is working out well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

